Once Upon a Tanbo

waiting game

Posted on: October 24, 2007

I hate waiting for things.. I have never, ever been patient.
When I was still in elementary school I would number the days on my
school calender, starting around April, and cross them off slowly until
the last day of school in mid-June.
I count down everything, and then as soon as it comes I have to find
something else to count down to..

My countdown dejour is two. Two days until I go to Tokyo again to see
Ryohei. It feels so silly to count down the days until you see your
fiancee again, but in my case it keeps me somewhat sane. Its been 7
months since we’ve been long distance and it just feels so hard
sometimes. Espicially when a certain amount of time has passed between
meetings.. over the summer I had a lot of vacation so we were able to
see eachother once every 2 weeks or so.. from now on we are both busy
with work so its going to be only about once a month until we move in
together.

Interesting fact: I had a long distance realtionship in high school and
swore that I would never do it again. Actually.. when I first started
emailing with Ryohei and he told me that he was interested in talking
with me because he would probably be moving to Tokyo(where I had lived
for my study abroad), I told myself that this was one person that I
shouldn’t get interested in more than friends. Of course, always being
one to contradict myself, he ended up being the love of my life. Which I
am very thankful for, just not so thankful for this seemingly
neverending year apart.

I hate going back to a lonely apartment at night, cooking dinner for
one, and sitting down for a mind numbing evening of television and
Japanese study. Its funny.. because on one hand.. it still feels like
I’m single sometimes (the lonliness,going to bed alone,etc), but I
defintely can not join in the single girl activities like excessive
partying, going on dates, etc.. that a lot of my single aquitances do
here. Not that I’ve really ever been a partier, but if I was really
single I wouldn’t be staying at home as much for sure. The first couple
of months when I came to Japan before I met Ryohei, and ashamedly, the
first month or two after he left when we werent sure if things were
going to work out or not, are a prime example. Besides the obvious
reasons, of not having to look for a dating partner.. a lot of the money
that I would spend on going out is used up on my trips to Tokyo.. its
not that expensive, but I do end up spending about 15000 yen (including
transport) every weekend that I go out there.

Well.. I guess I’m just complaining again.. its funny, I usually am not
a complainer at all in “real life” in fact I’ve been told I’m a bit of a
pushover.. but, I’m a heart over head person by far so matters of the
heart weigh heavily on me. Thus.. in my blog.. they just tend to spill
out.

Anyways in order to balance out the overall feel of this blog my next
entry will be all happy and sappy about Tokyo! Yay! I hope the weather
is nice.. I love love love October and November!! So happy I was born a
fall girl!

oh by the way go red sox!!!!! I went to university in Boston so I am a
pretty big Sox fan!! I want to catch a game but with the time difference
I think its going to be pretty hard. Also.. I am so ready for Starbucks
to start putting out the fall/winter drinks.. America already has the
Pumpkin Latte, hurry up Japan!!!!

3 Responses to "waiting game"

Hi Sarah! Thanks for leaving a comment on my blog. πŸ™‚ I’ve bookmarked your site so I’ll be checking in frequently! I completely understand about LDR…DH and I did that for 1 1/2 years while I decided if I was coming back to Japan or not (that was 8 years ago πŸ™‚ Anyway, will be commenting again soon! Thanks for dropping by. πŸ™‚

Hi Sarah! I love your posts about Ryohei, you guys are obviously very much in love and even though it must suck so much to be apart, I find the way you write about your relationship very sweet. You\’ll look back on all this one day and have this great record for your kids of mom and dad\’s \”story.\”

Hi Sarah,

This is the first time I have left a comment on your blog, but I have been reading it quite a bit. Just wanted to know, I completely understand how you feel about the long distance relationship.

Since February this year, my Japanese fiance and I have been in a long distance relationship, and I have only been able to see him twice since then… it’s really really difficult!!

But you two sound like you love each other so much, so you will get through it!!

Comments are closed.

