Once Upon a Tanbo

random

Posted on: November 13, 2007

The last few days have really sped by.. some of it was ok, and some of
it was just not good.

Theres a lot of stuff going on inside my head at the moment, so todays
journal may not be very coherent but I need to collect al my thoughts so
bear with me.

(1) So Ryohei is 100% moving in with me the first week of January. All
this planning has happened in the last week or so and its a lot to
process! All the details aren’t entirely clear but for all intense
purposes, he will be quitting on December 21st and moved out of his
Tokyo apartment by December 27th. From there he will go to Niigata to
spend New Years with his parents (I will be joining from the 28th or
29th) and then we will return to “our” apartment around the 3rd or 4th
of January. His Komuin classes will start on January 7th.

(2) In have a work conference in Tokyo next week so I will be heading
there on Friday night to see Ryohei for that weekend. We are planning to
go to the ramen museum in Yokohama!!! Im really excited about that. My
conference is Monday through Weds. but since Friday is a national
holiday, I am just taking the whole week off to spend there. On Friday,
Ryohei and I are flying back into Kobe to celebrate Thanksgiving in
Osaka.. and he’ll stay with me and probably start moving some stuff in
until that Sunday. So I get 10 straight days of Ryohei!! Of course in
less than 2 months now, I’ll have all Ryohei all the time, but still I
haven’t seen him for about 3 weeks now and I’m starting to get.. weird.
I always do after a certain amount of time has passed. I know that I am
very lucky to have gotten to see him as much as I have during these 10
months that we will have spent apart. The longest that we will have had
to go without seeing eachother has only been 26 days or so. Which really
isn’t too long.. if we had waited until Spring to move in together it
would have been quite a bit longer though. (I’m pretty excited about
this except for one thing)

(3) One of the only minuses to Ryohei coming to Kobe is that he has
pretty much no source of income, nor does he plan to for the first 4,5
months that hes here. Which pretty much means that most of the financial
burden is on me. Its not really that I mind, I just hope that it doesnt
become a source of tension, I may make him get a part-time job, although
I know that will pretty much kill him since hes going to run out of the
savings that hes made pretty quickly between paying for school, train
pass, phone bill etc. I’ve told him I can take care of rent and
utilities and food for the most part. But, there isnt going to be much
fun in the S&R household until after the spring. The only thing that I’m
really bothered about is that we were planning to go and introduce him
to my family in America in March and we will most likely not be able to
now. But I haven’t been home in almost a year and a half and I think
maybe even if I got alone I might just have to go home for a week. But..
I really want to introduce him to my family espicially since we are
getting married next year.

(4) So many people are sick.. a lot of the people in my section at work
are sick and coughing and clearing their throats. I have been lucky not
to get a winter cold yet and I pray that if I have to get one, that it
wait until after the JLPT to hit. But, with all the sick people at work
it is making me paranoid.. please body!! Just hold out another 2,3
weeks, then you can be sick all that you like!!!!

4 Responses to "random"

Ok So I have just read all your archives from the last two months and am up to date on who you are and whats happening!!! I was slightly confused reading this post random even though I had read a couple before it but I am on track now!!!

I have been in similar situation to you, except I was in Australia and my bf was here. For 10 months. We split up for a couple of months but still had the intention of getting back together, which we did when I returned to Japan in Feb 2006….my partner, Shun, and I have lived together for 18 months now and met almost three years ago. Reading your blog reminds me so much of my life and even the way you write makes me feel like I am reading something that I myself could of written.

I think that no matter how much you love a place (in this case Japan!) that you will always have times when things are worrying you, that seem harder to handle than than they would back home. For example supporting Ryohei while he is in school next year and possibly the year after(Although first let me say, YAY that he is coming to Kobe earlier than expected you must be stoked!)….but have a think about the money you will be saving on travelling since you have both been doing a lot of it this last six or eight months or so! I know what a CIR earns and I think you are right that you

I also think that despite the fact Ryohei probably can`t go with you back home early next year that you should definitely go. You will need a break from Japan, and I think a trip home really helps people put their life and thoughts in perspective! If Ryohei can go though, he definitely should…I am sure your parents would love to meet the man you are going to marry!

I was wondering if you and Ryohei speak in English or Japanese with each other?! In reference to the mails you talked about I am guessing Japanese….I speak to Shun in Japanese too and I am not sure about you but sometimes I get so frustrated when I can`t express myself properly. Bit off topic but just wanted to add it!

Sorry for my long rant! I am sure that the fact that you will be together full-time from January will cancel out some of the worry you might be feeling now because you will be together to tackle it.

Best of luck to Ryohei and yourself, I hope Ryohei passes the exam next June so that you can get started on your plans for marriage, babies and a life of finishing work on time (Or what you and I consider on-time!)

ps: I feel for you and ryohei and the problem you have had with his father regarding his decision. SHun and I have similar problems with his mum…I want to go back to Australia next year for six months so shun can learn english and I can spend time with my family before moving back to Japan to get married…Shun is a little unsure about this but his mother is downright against it saying that I am selfish for wanting this and that shun would never find another job here after we came back………I was fine living in tokyo with shun until earlier this year when his job got completely crazy and half the nights he was coming up at 2 or 3pm and sometimes not at all…plus he was working almost everyweekend, both days…I decided that even though his work has settled down now that I need him to experience life in Australia so that he can see where I cam coming from when I talk about my life back home and my upbringing etc.

I think ultimately though that if a decision you make is what both of you want, or both of you agree on that you are both adults and while family`s opinions are VERY important that in the end you need to do what is going to be what is best for both of you.

I apoligise for hijacking your comments….next time I will email!
Lulu http://cherryblossomadventures.typepad.com

Ok So I have just read all your archives from the last two months and am up to date on who you are and whats happening!!! I was slightly confused reading this post random even though I had read a couple before it but I am on track now!!!

I have been in similar situation to you, except I was in Australia and my bf was here. For 10 months. We split up for a couple of months but still had the intention of getting back together, which we did when I returned to Japan in Feb 2006….my partner, Shun, and I have lived together for 18 months now and met almost three years ago. Reading your blog reminds me so much of my life and even the way you write makes me feel like I am reading something that I myself could of written.

I think that no matter how much you love a place (in this case Japan!) that you will always have times when things are worrying you, that seem harder to handle than than they would back home. For example supporting Ryohei while he is in school next year and possibly the year after(Although first let me say, YAY that he is coming to Kobe earlier than expected you must be stoked!)….but have a think about the money you will be saving on travelling since you have both been doing a lot of it this last six or eight months or so! I know what a CIR earns and I think you are right that you

I also think that despite the fact Ryohei probably can`t go with you back home early next year that you should definitely go. You will need a break from Japan, and I think a trip home really helps people put their life and thoughts in perspective! If Ryohei can go though, he definitely should…I am sure your parents would love to meet the man you are going to marry!

I was wondering if you and Ryohei speak in English or Japanese with each other?! In reference to the mails you talked about I am guessing Japanese….I speak to Shun in Japanese too and I am not sure about you but sometimes I get so frustrated when I can`t express myself properly. Bit off topic but just wanted to add it!

Sorry for my long rant! I am sure that the fact that you will be together full-time from January will cancel out some of the worry you might be feeling now because you will be together to tackle it.

Best of luck to Ryohei and yourself, I hope Ryohei passes the exam next June so that you can get started on your plans for marriage, babies and a life of finishing work on time (Or what you and I consider on-time!)

ps: I feel for you and ryohei and the problem you have had with his father regarding his decision. SHun and I have similar problems with his mum…I want to go back to Australia next year for six months so shun can learn english and I can spend time with my family before moving back to Japan to get married…Shun is a little unsure about this but his mother is downright against it saying that I am selfish for wanting this and that shun would never find another job here after we came back………I was fine living in tokyo with shun until earlier this year when his job got completely crazy and half the nights he was coming up at 2 or 3pm and sometimes not at all…plus he was working almost everyweekend, both days…I decided that even though his work has settled down now that I need him to experience life in Australia so that he can see where I cam coming from when I talk about my life back home and my upbringing etc.

I think ultimately though that if a decision you make is what both of you want, or both of you agree on that you are both adults and while family`s opinions are VERY important that in the end you need to do what is going to be what is best for both of you.

I apoligise for hijacking your comments….next time I will email!
Lulu http://cherryblossomadventures.typepad.com

Hi Sarah, I am new to your blog. Just want to say that you may want to consider one of those credit cards that accumulate mileage. I use mine all the time (Citibank/Northwest) and have never paid for my flights home. Although flights back to Singapore require fewer miles than to the States (I think that is where you are from?).

I use my card even for 500 yen purchases in supermarkets.

All the best for your new life together with Ryohei!

Glad to hear that Ryohei will be moving in with you in January! You must be thrilled…so much to do before then and the New Year’s holidays coming up. Any plans?

Comments are closed.

