Once Upon a Tanbo

What the heck? Part 2 WTF Japan!?!

Posted on: February 8, 2008

Ok so.. the story from below.. it continues in a wonder fashion.

So today would be the 5th day that my test results and registered mail from Tokyo have not been delivered.
Definitely weird. So I decided not to wait any longer and called the senders of the mail from Tokyo asking if I could get the number of the letter they were sending me. The man was very polite and told me to wait 10 mins or so before calling back and telling me that the letter had been sent to my local post office and then sent back because apparently I don’t live at my address anymore.

He tells me I should get in contact with the post office immediately.

I then realize something.. Ryohei moved in with me a about a month ago, and he registered himself at the local office. When you register, you get a jyuuminhyo or your proof of living there I guess.. but anyways since many of those married to Japanese will know, gaijin are not put on these. Thus, when Ryohei had his created even though this is my house and I am registered here via my foreign resident card, I was deleted and he was put as the owner of the house. Thus the mail for him is constantly delivered, and the mail for me is being returned or sent to a forwarded address.. I am not sure which. I contacted the person who lived here before me asking him if my mail has been sent to him but no reply yet.

So, that would explain why Ryohei’s moms letter (addressed to me), my test results, and obviously the registered letter from Tokyo have not come. They don’t think I live here any more because I’m not Japanese and thus not on the jyuuminhyo.

So yah, I am pretty frustrated.
Ryohei has called the post office and told them to put that I am living here.

I guess they will be resending the package from Tokyo after the long weekend.
And as for my test results.. if the guy who used to live here doesn’t have them they’ve been sent back to Tokyo.
I spent 20 minutes on the phone with the testing agency, which of course knows whether I passed or failed but they won’t tell me over the phone because its “personal” information. And then they say, well if you want to send us 1000 yen for a certificate we can mail it to you, if not you’ll have to wait until the 19th when we can resend results. I’m so frustrated. I guess I’m just not going to know unless I decide to fork out 1000 yen just to find out that I failed… I’m so angry..

As for Ryohei’s moms letter.. no idea where that went.. perhaps back to Niigata perhaps to the guy who was here before me.

Anyways this is the first time I’ve really felt like an outsider here, and it hurts.
I hope the stupid post office puts me back on their list so that I can get my mail.

I don’t know what to say I’m so frustrated and annoyed.

7 Responses to "What the heck? Part 2 WTF Japan!?!"

ARGHHHHHH! Crazy! I am sure you passed! I hope the thing with the post office gets sorted out soon!

When I lived at Shumpei`s parents place they would never deliver my mail unless it also had his surname on it!

Several times his mother had to ring and demand they deliver all mail with my name on it.

Sometimes being a gaijin really sucks!

i was actually thinking about your post today and was going to leave a comment on that one and tell you to go talk to the post office, but then you updated…

when i first got to japan, i was subletting an apartment from a teacher (a japanese woman) at school while she was out of the country. i didn’t realize i had to register with the post office and just assumed the mail (with my name on it) would be delivered, as long as the address was correct.

but soon after moving in i got a notice from the post office saying that there was a package addressed to me and they wanted to confirm that the person (me) actually lived at that address. i went to the post office, showed proof of living there and explained that i wanted mail to BOTH names delivered to that address. after that there was no problem.

it’s less a foreigner issue and more about the fact that all of a sudden they’re got another name with the same address and they don’t won’t leave mail if (as far as they know) a person with that name doesn’t live there, EVEN IF the address is correct.

in your case, maybe they just assumed that you had moved and just made ryohei the only name registered to your address.

it’s annoying, i know. i was annoyed. and so many times in japan, it’s easy to chalk it up to the “oh, it’s because i’m a foreigner” (i do it too and it doesn’t hurt any less) and it’s frustrating.

but, i must say that for a country that rarely has street names, the post office usually does an alright job getting mail delivered.

when you went to the post office though, they didn’t have all the mail that had come for you? maybe check with ryohei’s mom too, it might have been sent back??

sorry, that sucks. especially the test results AND you had your name written on the box…but, if you’ve talked to the post office, you shouldn’t have any more problems.

i would still get a lock for your mailbox (though i doubt anyone would steal your mail just because you’re a foreigner…:P)

this is a seriously long comment from someone who’s never commented before, but i’ve been reading your site for a little while now…hello!! 🙂

i also think this is a case of a too efficient post office. i hope you get it cleared up soon!

i also think this is a case of a too efficient post office. i hope you get it cleared up soon!

Lulu – Ahhhh I’ve had a few people after hearing my story tell me about their horrible encounters with the post here. Sorry to hear that you had trouble as well.. apparently I have to turn in a “tensou todoke” to say that I have recently moved “back” to the address I’ve been living in the past 6th months. It’s pretty ridiculous..

Although I’m happy that no one is stealing my mail..

Jo –
Hi welcome to my blog!! I’m happy you came out to comment.. Yah, I had both Ryohei and my supervisor at work call trying to figure things out.. part of it is because I’m a foreigner just because our gaikokujin torokusho is not the same is a Japanese registration. Like when people get married to a Japanese here and they are only a blurb on the family register. So for example if a foreign man and a Japanese woman get married and have a kid, the wife and the kid will be on the jyuuminhyo but the husband won’t so it looks like just the mom and the kid are living in the house.. so it looks like shes a single mom. However there has been some movement to change the registration system for foreigners so we may end up having a “family registrar” of our own..

Either way problem seems solved for now, it was just very frustrating. Anyways I took a look at your blog! I’ll keep an eye on your site from now on;)

Illahee – Thanks for your previous and comment and this one. Haha.. a too efficient post office, I like the sound of that. Seems like things should be ok for now.. this was my first time ever really having an “issue” here, JET is pretty good about hand holding huh.

I’m sure this won’t be the last tho ;X

Lulu – Ahhhh I’ve had a few people after hearing my story tell me about their horrible encounters with the post here. Sorry to hear that you had trouble as well.. apparently I have to turn in a “tensou todoke” to say that I have recently moved “back” to the address I’ve been living in the past 6th months. It’s pretty ridiculous..

Although I’m happy that no one is stealing my mail..

Jo –
Hi welcome to my blog!! I’m happy you came out to comment.. Yah, I had both Ryohei and my supervisor at work call trying to figure things out.. part of it is because I’m a foreigner just because our gaikokujin torokusho is not the same is a Japanese registration. Like when people get married to a Japanese here and they are only a blurb on the family register. So for example if a foreign man and a Japanese woman get married and have a kid, the wife and the kid will be on the jyuuminhyo but the husband won’t so it looks like just the mom and the kid are living in the house.. so it looks like shes a single mom. However there has been some movement to change the registration system for foreigners so we may end up having a “family registrar” of our own..

Either way problem seems solved for now, it was just very frustrating. Anyways I took a look at your blog! I’ll keep an eye on your site from now on;)

Illahee – Thanks for your previous and comment and this one. Haha.. a too efficient post office, I like the sound of that. Seems like things should be ok for now.. this was my first time ever really having an “issue” here, JET is pretty good about hand holding huh.

I’m sure this won’t be the last tho ;X

Meh. Beaurocracy, eh? I’ve had mail just flat out not show up here in China, and I highly suspect post office people of nabbing my stuff, but what can you do. I hate the post office! And all that register stuff … I’m not on my husband’s family register either. In fact, he doesn’t even have his own register, he’s on his (deceased) parents’ register, so it looks like he never left home. I don’t understand why either country still does this register thing anyhow. In China it used to be so that people couldn’t move around the country easily but now it doesn’t matter and it’s just another pointless detail that makes life harder. Anyhow … I saw the next post up and congrats on passing. Very well done!

Comments are closed.

