Once Upon a Tanbo

Dun dun dun duuuuun!

Posted on: February 26, 2008

Well, I would have to say that this month has been one of the fastest
ones I have ever experienced! I guess the fact that I’ve been super
busy with work and other social engagements has helped.

It still doesn’t seem real but Ryohei and I will be turning in our
paper work in less than 60 hours and we will officially be married. It’
s hard to believe that the guy I randomly met and totally clicked with
about a year and a half ago is going to be my husband. I still vaguely
remember the first time I saw him coming down the steps of Tanigami
station and then I clearly remember the rest of the night at the
okonomiyaki restaurant, karaoke, and then later at my friend Rachel’s
apartment. Its funny… we were pretty much destined to be with each
other from the start. I remember sitting on Rachel’s couch while we
watched the movie and then how we both slept in the living room and only
said good night, but he told me after we started going out that he
wanted to kiss me on the forehead before going to bed. I remember the
whirlwind week between meeting him and then becoming a couple. The 3
hours phonecalls we had every night and then our date at the aquarium in
Osaka where he asked me to be his girlfriend on the top of a Ferris
wheel.

I remember feeling so crushed when we found out he would be working in
Tokyo and how I wondered if we would be able to make it through. The 9
months we spend apart were so difficult and there were times when I
wondered what would happen to us, but slowly we began to formulate the
plan of what we wanted to do with our lives, and although his included
difficult things such as him quitting his job, he stuck by his word and
we eventually ended up back together.

We had talked about getting married since probably around this time last
year, although we had only been together since the fall, but it was
around July when we were playing with small fireworks in the park near
my old apartment that I really truly felt he would be the person I spend
the rest of my days with. Whenever I think about a life without him in
it I feel so empty and want to cry.

And so even though we aren’t having a ceremony yet and we aren’t
financially stable or incredibly prepared for the future, being able to
marry Ryohei makes me so incredibly happy. I am not legally changing my
name until my contract with this job is over in summer 2009, but please
feel free to call me Mrs. Kobayashi : ) (haha… I feel so twitterpated!)

8 Responses to "Dun dun dun duuuuun!"

Mrs. Kobayashi,
I just mailed out the book and the post office says you should have it by Saturday at the latest. Hope that you enjoy it as much as I did. Let me know when you get it.

Oh Sara, Congratulations!! I am so happy for you!!!

I must say Mrs Kobayashi has a nice ring to it, doesn’t it!! I bet you are just bursting with happiness!!

Only 6 and half months till our wedding!!

That’s awesome Sarah!

You know, I don’t generally believe in fate, but my husband does. He doesn’t think there’s any other way to explain how two people from two entirely different places could end up together under such unlikely circumstances. Maybe there’s something to it afterall? Good luck tomorrow, and congrats in advance!!

Thank you everyone!!!!

Wow.. I didn’t think people would actually write my new name out!!
In Japanese it turns out to be

☆小林サラ☆

Trisha – I will let you know as soon as I get the book!! Looking forward to reading it!!

Nay – Thank you so much!! I always look forward to reading your posts about your wedding and can’t wait to see pictures etc. You will be a beautiful bride.

Jess – I like your DH’s logic! sometimes I wonder why I got so interested in Japan and speaking Japanese… sometimes I wonder if it really all leads up to this!

I’m going to be married in less than 24 hours!!! Ahhhhhh!!!

congratulations mrs. sarah kobayashi!

i’m kind of jealous that you have a short name in katakana so it “fits” like other japanese names…haha.

i look forward to more about life as a newlywed! 🙂

Sarah, I think Mrs. Kobayashi, has a very nice ring to it!!! : )

Sarah, I think Mrs. Kobayashi, has a very nice ring to it!!! : )

Congratulations! And just think, you’ll save money on anniversary presents because you only have to buy one every four years! 🙂

I hope that one day you have the money to have a big ceremony with all the trimmings!

And many cute halfu babies!

Good luck for a happy married life!

Comments are closed.

