Once Upon a Tanbo

A day late!

Posted on: March 12, 2008

Wrote this yesterday but didn’t get around to posting it til today! I think its all still relevant!

So here I am at work again today…
Mondays I am usually somewhat busy and have things to do, but today (Tuesday) I’ve completed pretty much everything I have to do and its still not time for lunch. I think that I’m just antsy because its only a week before I will be flying back to America for my vacation.

I just need a change of pace for a little bit. I’m so tired of working, I think sometimes I just need a break. If I had more stuff to do it would be better, honestly I should be studying but since passing 1kyuu I just haven’t felt in the mood for it. As a result my Japanese has gotten worse. It really is just like normal muscle, if you don’t use it for a while it starts to atrophy. Of course I use Japanese at work and home everyday, but its always the same stuff. I just get in a pattern of the same things over and over again. At least if I’m studying I introduce myself to new words. Actually, I do have a paperback novel here that I feel like I could read, but its almost too much effort. I really need to kick my butt in gear though. I think sometimes that I will just suck up the language by living her, but I know that without some effort from my side, I will never achieve the level of fluency that I want. (ok so I’m done rambling about Japanese, since its so boring!)

Anyways, I had a really nice weekend. On Saturday, I met up with Mandy and baby Toshi along with two other girls who live in Osaka who are also married to Japanese men and have young children. One of them is Amimomi who I met through one of my favorite forums and the other was through a similar group on facebook.

It funny how I was just feeling so sad and lonely last week, and then I was able to meet a couple really cool new people. We met up in Nishinomiya to have an Indian lunch, we had to wait about 45 minutes to get seated, but once in the restaurant was very accommodating especially since we had 2 infants and a toddler with us. We had planned to go to a park after lunch, but it turned out to be too far of a walk so we ended up having coffee at Starbucks for an hour or so. After that we all went our separate ways, with Mandy and I headed back to Kobe and the two other girls going off to Osaka. We are all relatively young (our ages ranged between 23 and 29) so it was refreshing to meet some more people my age in the area. By a random coincidence, all of their husbands had the same name (but different kanji)! Being the only one who didn’t have a baby wasn’t as ackward as I thought it would be. In fact, it was kind of nice to be able to give them a hug and play with them, but not have to change diapers or deal with crying or crankiness. I was so occupied that I missed my BCP by two hours though, hopefully there won’t be any repercussions from that. (yikes)

But yah it was a lot of fun! Even though it was the first time meeting for all of us (except me and Mandy) I think we got along really well and we’re hoping to meet monthly or bi-monthly.

Ryohei had another practice exam on Sunday. He was 9 points away from passing the exam (he got his score back already) so he was pretty disappointed, but I reminded him that he’s only been studying for about 2 months and still hasn’t covered the material so I said that was very impressive!! He’s trying for 6 or 7 different types of jobs, with all the tests being spread through the months of June, July, and August. He’s trying for the Niigata Prefectural Office, the Kanto District Court Offices, National Government ranks 1 and 2, Tax Collection Office, his hometowns city hall, and possibly a grassroots type association in Niigata.

In particular he’d like to work for the Niigata Prefectural Office or the Courts office. In particular the Courts office is very family friendly and has one of the earliest return times of all government positions so I would really be greatful if he could secure a position there. The first round tests are still about 2-3 months away, but the time is moving so fast that the will be here in no time. I think we are both praying that he passes this year, although we have some options open for the future.

If Ryohei doesn’t pass this year, I am still contracted to my job, so he will continue to study and probably work part time and try for the next years tests. (You find out results in August but don’t start until April of the next year) If he passes for the 4/2010 start work we will be going to live with my parents in America from 8/2009 for about 6 months so that he can pick up some English and so I can get my drivers license and have a little more time to at home and spend with my grandparents etc. If Ryohei doesn’t pass either year, I am suggesting that we relocate to America for a few years since I think there are more possibilities for us as a career wise and family wise there. However, I am very confident that he will pass at least next year if not this year, so it will probably not come to that.

Anyways, I know its far off, but I like to plan in advance… (not sure if it’s a good or bad point of mine)

Theres the bell!
Yay its lunch time! Signing off!!

7 Responses to "A day late!"

Wow it sounds like Ryohei`s study is going really well so far! The test is a couple of months away so he still has another couple of months to go right?!

So it looks like you will be going back to America for at least a little bit right? If he passes this year even?

It sounds like you both have things under control! I wonder if he has any special surprises for you for white day tomorrow?!? Shun and I are going out to dinner, to a middle eastern restraunt!

I am a big planner too! I totally understand where you are coming from that even though the future is far off it is still fun and best to plan for it, even if not everything goes according to plan!

It is so cool to read your blog and hear you mention places like Nishinomiya. When I first came to Japan I worked in Hyogo-ken and spent many weekends in Kobe. Kinda makes me all nostalgic but then of course that was also the time when my now husband and I were doing the long distance thing (he was in Chiba) and I don’t miss that part of it at all.

Hey, I just found your blog!! I am so jealous that you have other foreign wives around you, and that they are in the same age group! It must be a wonderful feeling. Nobody wants to come to Hokkaido…

Anyway, you`re going home soon right! Have fun!

Colleen

Hey, I just found your blog!! I am so jealous that you have other foreign wives around you, and that they are in the same age group! It must be a wonderful feeling. Nobody wants to come to Hokkaido…

Anyway, you`re going home soon right! Have fun!

Colleen

Hey Sara! Let me know if you have any questions about freelance translation. I’m not very experienced but can definitely give you some basic tips, if you need them! 🙂

Hey Sara! Let me know if you have any questions about freelance translation. I’m not very experienced but can definitely give you some basic tips, if you need them! 🙂

Colleen – Yah I just found these girls! But I’ll be moving in about a year anyways, so its kind of sad 😦

I’m surprised there aren’t more in Hokkaido!! I guess its a big place so that even if there were you would be widely space out ;/

Kuri- Yay that would be awesome!!! Maybe I’ll shoot you an email when I get back from my America trip!

Comments are closed.

