Once Upon a Tanbo

Leaving on a jet plane…

Posted on: March 19, 2008

Well my bags are packed and I really am ready to go…

Yes I am off to America for a scant week or so after over a year and a half of being in Japan. My suitcase is incredibly light with about 2 days worth of clothes (I intend to go on a buying spree once I am there..) as well as presents for my family. But thats it! Took me all of 30 minutes to complete.

Sadly Ryohei will not be going with me this time, he has classes that he can’t miss, but we have decided to both go back in December together. Imagine that, being able to go back twice in less than a year?!

I am really excited about going back, obviously I need new clothes. When I took a look in my closet while I was packing I was just so disheartened. I go through phases where I just need new things to wear, and while some Japanese clothes are ok, they just don’t tend to fit as well as I would like them to, and they definitly not nice enough for work.

It doesn’t help I’ve gained probably between 3-5 kilo (haven’t weighed myself.. ) in the past 2-3 months which I am going to attribute to the cold, my desk job, and starting of oral contraceptives.. don’t even let me get started on how big my chest has become (not in the good way) But yah, so I decided (as I do every spring) that I need to do some body matinence once I come back in April. To be honest, my diet isn’t too bad.. although truthfully I do have a love of sweets, but it can be oppressed. Its just the lack of exercize which kills me. So I have decided to invest in my first piece of exercize equipment and buy a stationary bike once I get back from America. I was considering join the gym, but I know (from experience) that I won’t keep it up after the 2-3rd week, but if I have a piece of equipment in my own house where its just sitting their looking at me I know I will do it. Add in the fact I can watch tv and do it, and that will help me. I don’t need to lose like 20 – 30 kilos.. it would just be nice to get down 10 or so like I was last year. I really think that for the most part, my job as an English teacher was much more active – standing and walking around during classes, walking around the school on my free periods, and playing with the kids and lunch and now my office job means just sit sit sit… last time I had an office job I gained a ton of weight as well.. ;(

Anyways – moving on from that topic..

I’m going to America soon!!!! I just hope that I’m not like I WANT TO STAY HERE… thats one of my biggest fears. Right now I’m ok with living in Japan, I just hope a trip to America is not going to disrupt the nice balance that I’ve found here. At this point between friends going home, wanting new clothes, and just waiting for my trip in general.. America is seeming like a better and better option, but at this point with Ryohei it just isn’t a long term one. I’m not sure how much one week will do to ease my fears that a life forever in Japan will be ok.

But in any case new clothes and lots of yummy food.. (I’m not even thinking about dieting on my trip home!) are a lot to look forward too!!!

I’ll try and get in a post during my trip!!!

7 Responses to "Leaving on a jet plane…"

Have a wonderful trip back home! Shop til you drop and eat your heart out girl!!! Ha ha ha, have fun! : )

Have a great trip home!

It took me 18 months to have my first trip back and I really enjoyed it BUT….I couldn’t wait to get back to Japan! That happened the following two trips too! So yeah, I love Australia and the clothes and the food and the lifestyle, but I love Japan too (apart from some things…).

Anyway, maybe going to the USA will revitalise you but also make you realise that Japan is where you want to be!

Good luck with the exercise too! Now it’s Spring I can actually leave the house and go for a walk! (I do have 30 kilos to lose…in my dreams!)

Have a great trip home!

It took me 18 months to have my first trip back and I really enjoyed it BUT….I couldn’t wait to get back to Japan! That happened the following two trips too! So yeah, I love Australia and the clothes and the food and the lifestyle, but I love Japan too (apart from some things…).

Anyway, maybe going to the USA will revitalise you but also make you realise that Japan is where you want to be!

Good luck with the exercise too! Now it’s Spring I can actually leave the house and go for a walk! (I do have 30 kilos to lose…in my dreams!)

I hope you have a wonderful trip back home, and enjoy being able to shop for what you want, and eat all the goodies you can!!

I understand about your fear of not wanting to stay in America. I have had the same fears on and off everytime I came back to Australia. But they soon go away when I realise how much I love and miss Naoki – that even though I know (and Naoki knows it too) Australia’s life style would suit as better, for the time being, Japan is where we must be.

I hope you have a wonderful trip back home, and enjoy being able to shop for what you want, and eat all the goodies you can!!

I understand about your fear of not wanting to stay in America. I have had the same fears on and off everytime I came back to Australia. But they soon go away when I realise how much I love and miss Naoki – that even though I know (and Naoki knows it too) Australia’s life style would suit as better, for the time being, Japan is where we must be.

Hi! Enjoy your trip home and don’t worry. Even if you come back and wish to God that you couldn’t have stayed there, just know that Japan has a way of sucking you back in and the feeling will pass. (Sometimes I get the Japan grumpies after a particularly good visit to Canada, but usually they are over within a couple of weeks. Then I can’t imagine leaving here- which is why I was already here for ten years before I even got married.)

Oh yay, have a super good time!!! Travel salfe and I look forward to hearing how it all goes!!!

I miss Japan when I go home, especially if Shun is still here but it i always really good too. For a break, and for time to myslef. I am sure you will go fine!!!

Take care

Comments are closed.

