Once Upon a Tanbo

I’m Back!

Posted on: March 28, 2008

Hey all!!

I am now back in Japan!! It was a fast week back home.
I can’t believe how quickly the time flew by!! But I was able to pretty much get in everything that I wanted to do!

I definatly helped to contribute to the American economy with my spending. I bought so many things!!
I spent maybe 500 on clothes (hit up a lot of sales) and about 150 on various food items! I came over with only one suitcase but returned with the suitcase, a duffel bag AND a box full of goodies. Thank goodness Ryohei ditched class to help me home from the airport.. i’m not sure that I would have made it without him!! (I had about 50 kilos worth of luggage all together) but now my pantry is stocked with cookie, brownie, and muffin mix. Instant mashed potatoes (Ryoheis fave), Rice a roni, Tuna and Hamburger Helper etc. I also brought home 30 flour tortillas which I am currently freezing for later. I got various other things as well oatmeal ( I love the peaches and cream and strawberry and cream kinds so I bought a box of each), Hersheys Hugs! (love them!), International Flavors cafe mixes (Aztec Cocoa, French Vanilla Cafe and Chai Latte) I also picked up dried mixes for Hummus, Falafal, and Refried Beans. So When I feel the urge for middle eastern or mexican food later on I can make them.

While in America I had so many different types of foods.. Vietnamese, Mexican, Traditional Home cooking, etc.. I didn’t get to have Greek food which was a disapointment but I had Rubios Fish Tacos twice… (probably only a California thing, but absolutely delicious)

Anyways seeing Ryohei was great. I gave him a big hug and lots and lots of cuddles. His tests are so soon.. actually we’ve started to realize that unless he gets specifically the Niigata Prefectural office we may not end up in Niigata. The other 4 tests he is taking will be within the Kanto area which includes Saitama, Chiba, Gunma, Tokyo, Nagano etc… so if he gets a position with those we may end up in a different place than we expected. Personally I wouldn’t want to live in Tokyo but I wouldn’t mind somewhere like Chiba or Gunma… seems like most of the people I’m meeting these days are from Kanto anyways so I’m sure it wouldn’t be lonely there.. hmm… well I hope Ryohei passes and gets placed wherever we are supposed to end up! I’m really really looking forward to not being the only worker in the household.. espicially after my shopping last week. hehe..

Well, I’ve got some chicken marinating in a homemade teriyaki sauce.. off to attempt to cook it in the broiler!! (my first time!!)

I need to catch up on reading all my blogs!!!!!

10 Responses to "I’m Back!"

おかえり!
i kept stopping by, forgetting that you were in the states! it seems like you just left but already you’re back! yay. 🙂

i can sympathize with the “i think i’m more serious than my family and don’t quite fit in with them” feeling. as i’ve gotten older, i’ve gotten less serious and more outgoing, but still feel like a bit of a black sheep with my family. but family is family, and it is always nice to go home for short intervals.

i usually come back to japan with two or three times as much stuff as i go over with! haha. glad to see i’m not the only one!

hopefully ryhoei does well on his tests, and where ever you end up, i’m sure you’ll meet lovely people and make it “home.” 🙂

It’s so sweet reading how you describe your relationship with your husband (Japanese DHs make the sweetest husbands). I’m envious of your food stash! And I just wanted to say that I too have wondered what kind of mother I’ll be- apparently it’s normal. Either your mom is the best mother in the world and you worry you’ll never be able to even come close to her greatness, or else your mother is not the best mother in the world and you worry that not so great mothering may be in your DNA. But the love that you share with your husband is important for making a happy family and I’m sure there were some people in your life you can think of that you would like to model your own parenting on. (For me- it’s my dad and also a couple that babysat me when I was a baby and always had my childhood photo up on the same wall as their actual grandchildren!)

PS- My mother reads my blog, so hush hush on the DNA worry 🙂

Yay, welcome back Sarah! I missed you in the blogging world, ha ha ha. I think your shopping sounds fabulous. And all the wonderful food!

Good luck to Ryohei when he tests for it! Fingers crossed for both you guys! And so cute that you missed him so much and he missed you too! : ) Welcome back!!! : )

Welcome home Sarah, I thought I already posted a comment, but it must not have worked properly! I hope you had a great time shopping! It’s a nice comfort knowing that you have some “food from home”, isn’t it! I always stock up big when I go back to Japan!

Wish Ryohei good luck for his exams for me. I’m sure with the amount of studying he has been doing, he should be fine! *fingers crossed he gets the job in Niigata*

Welcome home Sarah, I thought I already posted a comment, but it must not have worked properly! I hope you had a great time shopping! It’s a nice comfort knowing that you have some “food from home”, isn’t it! I always stock up big when I go back to Japan!

Wish Ryohei good luck for his exams for me. I’m sure with the amount of studying he has been doing, he should be fine! *fingers crossed he gets the job in Niigata*

Jo – It did go by quickly!! But I was only there a week!! I guess maybe part of it is just living here.. it just seems harder to relate to things back at home. I don’t know about current events and popular things so it just feels weird. But it was great to buy buy buy!!!! I was afraid customs was gonna pull me over and take all my stuff. Thankfully it didn’t happen! lol

Christelle – Awwwww thank you!!!! That was such a sweet post.. glad to see that I’m not the only one who feels that way. I guess with you that would be an even more impending thought since its only a couple more months!! I’m sure you and your husband will be great parents though!! You guys seem very raburabu too!!!!

Gina – Thanks!!! Actually I thought about being like you and taking lots and lots of picture of my stuff! But when I got back my place was such a mess that I just decided to put it in the cabinet!!! It is really great to be back!! I missed Japan.. but mostly Ryohei!! Even a week is tough!!! Looking forward to catching up on your blog!

Nay – I sure am stocked up!!!! Munching on some crackers as we speak hehe!! Yah the test is coming up soon…. I’m probably about as nervous as Ryohei does!!! To be honest I don’t mind if we end up somewhere other than Niigata just as long as Ryohei can get a good job where he can come home early(ish) and have a decent pay!!!!

Thanks for rooting for me!!

Jo – It did go by quickly!! But I was only there a week!! I guess maybe part of it is just living here.. it just seems harder to relate to things back at home. I don’t know about current events and popular things so it just feels weird. But it was great to buy buy buy!!!! I was afraid customs was gonna pull me over and take all my stuff. Thankfully it didn’t happen! lol

Christelle – Awwwww thank you!!!! That was such a sweet post.. glad to see that I’m not the only one who feels that way. I guess with you that would be an even more impending thought since its only a couple more months!! I’m sure you and your husband will be great parents though!! You guys seem very raburabu too!!!!

Gina – Thanks!!! Actually I thought about being like you and taking lots and lots of picture of my stuff! But when I got back my place was such a mess that I just decided to put it in the cabinet!!! It is really great to be back!! I missed Japan.. but mostly Ryohei!! Even a week is tough!!! Looking forward to catching up on your blog!

Nay – I sure am stocked up!!!! Munching on some crackers as we speak hehe!! Yah the test is coming up soon…. I’m probably about as nervous as Ryohei does!!! To be honest I don’t mind if we end up somewhere other than Niigata just as long as Ryohei can get a good job where he can come home early(ish) and have a decent pay!!!!

Thanks for rooting for me!!

Welcome back!!

I stock up on cous cous for Shun while back in Australia! We both love it!!! Plus I usually buy Tahini to make Hummus (I can get the gorobonzo beans here though luckily!) I have to pay a lot but I can find most of the international foods I usually want. Like decent cheese!

It must be good to see Ryohei, I am the same when I go home without Shun or if he returns to Japan earlier! The time from May til July will be hard! But we have done long distance before so hopefully we will be fine!

I often wonder about what kind of mother I will be…I was lucky to have really awesome parents (Although sure sometimes I complain about them, I know really that I am very lucky as they are very supportive of me and my decisions) but with my history of depression I often wonder if I will be a decent mother or not. This is part of the reason I have had enough of teaching also as it makes me feel like I will be a bad mother…I think Christelle is right though that the love between the babies mother and father makes decent parenting! I am sure you will make a great mum!!!!

Best of luck to Ryohei with his exams! I am sure he will do brilliantly!!!!! Sending good luck vibes!

Welcome back!!

I stock up on cous cous for Shun while back in Australia! We both love it!!! Plus I usually buy Tahini to make Hummus (I can get the gorobonzo beans here though luckily!) I have to pay a lot but I can find most of the international foods I usually want. Like decent cheese!

It must be good to see Ryohei, I am the same when I go home without Shun or if he returns to Japan earlier! The time from May til July will be hard! But we have done long distance before so hopefully we will be fine!

I often wonder about what kind of mother I will be…I was lucky to have really awesome parents (Although sure sometimes I complain about them, I know really that I am very lucky as they are very supportive of me and my decisions) but with my history of depression I often wonder if I will be a decent mother or not. This is part of the reason I have had enough of teaching also as it makes me feel like I will be a bad mother…I think Christelle is right though that the love between the babies mother and father makes decent parenting! I am sure you will make a great mum!!!!

Best of luck to Ryohei with his exams! I am sure he will do brilliantly!!!!! Sending good luck vibes!

Comments are closed.

