Once Upon a Tanbo

Eight things

Posted on: April 17, 2008

Lulu from Cherry Blossom Adventures tagged me for this 8 random things about you meme. I am horrible at these things so forgive me!!
Here are the rules:
1. Each player starts with 8 random facts/habits about themselves.
2. People who are tagged, write a blog post about their own 8 random things, and post these rules.
3. At the end of your post you need to tag 8 people and include their names.
4. Don’t forget to leave them a comment on their blog and tell them they’ve been tagged, and to come back and read your blog for the whole story.

8 Random Things About Me
1. I am very particular about my sleeping arrangements, I am someone who needs to have perfect darkness to sleep, its very hard for me to sleep with any sort of light on. This has been a problem since I am also a scaredy cat and when I used to live alone I would sometimes keep the light up and be terribly cranky at work the next day. Now the weird thing is, its very hard for me to sleep in perfect quiet. I need a fan or some sort of white noise, this may be due to the fact that I had a ceiling fan in my bedroom since age 10 and slept with it on almost every day from then until I graduated high school. Now I need some sort of undulating noise to lull me to sleep… surprisingly, gentle snoring works too, but Ryohei doesn’t snore, so he gets to put up with the fan instead heh heh heh.

2. I started learning Japanese formally as a University student at age 18, but I had some exposure to the language back when I was in Jr. High school, one of my best friends since I was 11 was a Japanese-American girl whose family owned a Japanese restaurant. I used to spend so much time with her that I practically lived at their house and worked at their restaurant. Her parents didn’t speak very much English so I was exposed to a lot of Japanese language at that time passively and even picked up a few words like “genki” and “3ji” (3 o’clock, which is when she would always tell her parents to pick us up from the mall), her parents also taught me words like “ijiwaru” (meany) and how to count to 10. At this point I consider myself, for the most part, a fluent Japanese speaker, I wonder if this experience was helpful to me in my future language studies.

3. This is a bit embarrassing, but I was a HUGE fan of My Little Pony which came out in the 80s. I loved them from probably about ages 3-13. I have a stash of over 200 that I still can’t bear to part with, I’m hoping that one day I’ll have a little girl who can get as much fun and use out of them as I did. My fandom extended far beyond the actual dolls, by the way, I had bed sheets, lunch boxes, video tapes that I taped and watched over and over again of the cartoons. My best friends in 3rd -6th grade also had a collection that rivaled mine and we would play for HOURS making up crazy stories and adventures. It’s a very good, if not slight embarrassing memory… if only for the fact that I only gave up playing them when I was still in Junior High School.

4. When I was little I used to be a really picky eater, I absolutely hated anything that was not “American” food. Thankfully I got over that about the time I entered high school and some of my favorite cuisines consist of Thai, Middle Eastern, Mexican, Indian, and Greek food. Yum!

5. I was a cheerleader for three years in high school. I think this is something that surprises a lot of people because I don’t seem like the type. I am lot more introverted then the stereotypical cheerleader image, I also didn’t really fit in with most of the girls on the team, but I dealt with it and still managed to have a lot of fun. We did competitions at several famous California theme parks and cheered at our teams football and basketball competitions. To be honest I have little to no coordination so I was a really really bad cheerleader. But, its a good memory from high school so I don’t regret it!

6. I’ve always had a very exact plan for my life, which I’ve been able to stick to with out a lot of glitches. I decided that I would go on JET after meeting my friend Alison while she was on JET in 1999. Seven years later I was on the plane myself, interestingly enough, I think it may have been my fate to stay here, since try as I might I couldn’t picture what I would be doing after I came home from Japan. Now, that’s not really an issue anymore, and I have a good idea of what I’ll be doing after I’m done with my current job.

7. I love cats! My parents had a kitty named Poopsqueak when I was born and through out my childhood we’ve had quite a few. Ginger, Pepper, Smoky, and finally Misty who is still alive. I bought her for my mom for Mothers day almost 13 years ago. She’s still fairly lively for her age. I’ve FINALLY gotten Ryohei hooked on the idea of wanting a cat, he had wanted to get a dog, so maybe in a year or two we will be getting our own kitty! Yay!

8. A lot of you may read my journal and think, I am broody beyond belief. Sadly, that may be true, however its not really a new development since I’ve wanted to have my own children since I was a kid myself. I’ve found lists of baby names from when I was about 8 and drawings I made of clothes for my future children. Ryohei and I have talked about it at length, and at this point we are just waiting for him to secure a job and then we will in all likelihood, start trying to conceive. The fact that this might happen in a year or so from now is very exciting since I know that he will be such a great dad. He’s pretty much the same way, we were discussing numbers and names by about the 2nd week we were dating. I feel a little silly for talking about it on here so much, but its very important to me, and I’m really looking forward to someday being a mother.

Ok!! Well that’s about it for today!! Lets see… I’m going to tag
Ana, Christelle, India, Trish, Gina, Midori, and Jess – yes I see that’s only 7… opps! Oh well!

5 Responses to "Eight things"

I’m like you – the room has to be pitch black for me to sleep. I remember when Naoki and I lived in the 1K, all the electronic items were constantly plugged in – so they used to glow slightly at night time. They used to drive me barmy!

Though, I also need it be completely silent as well… I can’t sleep even if there is a slight noise!

Yay! I got tagged. I got tagged for something similar last year, so I think this time I will write on the topic of 8 random things about pregnant me! I’ll try not to be too TMI 🙂

Yay, you did it!!!

I didn`t realize you didn`t start studying formally til you were 18 either! Same as me! (Although like you I had also been exposed to Japanese and Japanese friends) and I had also studyied a little in primary school. Animals, numbers etc etc! Yet I am still far from fluent!

I like the My Little Pony fact! I was like that with books! At a young age it was all nancy drew, babysitters club etc etc….

I have baby names that I like!!! I have a list in my journal and have talked to Shumpei about them too!

PS- I love cats too! I especially love orange cats cause they match my hair. Have had birds though, for the past ten years just cause they were easier with my situation in Japan. DH loves having birds as pets. Cats and birds don’t mix. I’ll have to work on him to eventually try a pet cat someday.

Crap I got tagged again! I’m horrible at getting tagged… dou shiyou. Can I take a pregnancy raincheck and then write 8 things about my baby when she comes? 🙂

Comments are closed.

