Once Upon a Tanbo

Trying not to fall behind

Posted on: June 24, 2008

On blogging that is, but not much has changed since I wrote last week.

But time is going by pretty quickly. Ryohei’s final test is this weekend and then Monday we’ll find out the results of one that he too k back in May. So far he’s taken 4 and passed 1 failed 1… the other two we don’t know yet. He did pretty well on one, but you never know where the borderline is for them. It just gives me a headache thinking about it.

So yah… I’m going to Chiba this weekend actually to stay with my best Japanese friend Ikko and her family for the weekend. They were like my host family when I went to school in Tokyo and I haven’t seen her parents in almost 3 years now! Wow… time really does fly.

Today Ryohei showed me a mail that I’d written him on his keitai exactly a year ago. It was when he as still living/working in Tokyo and really having a hard time of it. It was when I first suggested that he come stay with me in Kobe and study for his tests. From that tiny mail sprung the life that I am living right now. A year passes by so fast… I keep a very detailed memo/schedule book so I can always look back and see what I was doing a year ago or six months ago… by writing it down the event seems to stay more etched in my memory. Speaking of six months… thats how long Ryohei and I have been living together. That went by quickly too!

But honestly.. I just want the next two months to be over. I want to know what is going on in my life and where the next step is. I have been in Kobe two years now, and somethings telling me its time to move on. I like it here, but I think I’m ready for the next step in my life wherever it takes me. I guess when I first came here I was a different person in so many ways. Not planning to get married or change my job or even stay in Japan for more than a year or so… I’ve had a lot of good memories here but it’s time to move on.

Anyways enough angsty rambling – I’m off to bed!

3 Responses to "Trying not to fall behind"

Please tell Ryohei good luck from me for his final test this weekend. I will be cheering him on from down under!

Time does pass so quickly, doesn’t it… I mean Naoki and my 1.5 year seperation is nearly over, it has gone so quickly!!

You only have a couple more months of uncertainty, so hang in there! I’m sure these 2 months will fly by just as quickly as the last year has.

PS – We are heading to Niigata on the 2nd and 3rd of August to watch the fireworks. Very excited!!!

Please tell Ryohei good luck from me for his final test this weekend. I will be cheering him on from down under!

Time does pass so quickly, doesn’t it… I mean Naoki and my 1.5 year seperation is nearly over, it has gone so quickly!!

You only have a couple more months of uncertainty, so hang in there! I’m sure these 2 months will fly by just as quickly as the last year has.

PS – We are heading to Niigata on the 2nd and 3rd of August to watch the fireworks. Very excited!!!

Good to see a post from you (I’m one to talk, right? haha)!I know it’s hard staying in one place waiting things out once you’ve made the decision to move on. I’ve only been in Beijing three months but we’ve already decided on our next step and it’s definitely hard because part of me just wants to get out of here NOW and why can’t a year go by faster?! However, I try to stay away from that mindset of wishing time away, because I know a day will come when I will wish it back, you know what I mean? When I’m old and grey I’ll probably want to slap the younger me for not cherishing every moment! hehe.

I’m sure the two months will go by so fast Sara! That’s really no time at all in the grand scheme of things, and good on you for embracing change!

Comments are closed.

