Once Upon a Tanbo

Update on Life in General

Posted on: July 2, 2008

2nd of Two posts for today – wrote about my trip to kanto in the one below it

As anyone whose read my blog the past couple months might have picked up, I’m not entirely satisfied with my life at this point. I’ll be the first to admit that I’ve had a pretty decent life. I’ve never been in trouble or not had enough money, no one close to me has died, and I’ve usually been pretty good about making friends and having a job. However, I would have to say that the last 2-3 months have honestly been some of the lowest satisfaction wise that I’ve had for a long time.

I’m sure that there are a variety of different factors. One being I’m just tired of going to work everyday. I’ve been at my job a year next month and its lost all its excitement for me. I feel that I’m just wasting my time doing nothing… and I’m just so tired. I’ve been trying to get work as a freelancer because I really enjoy translating. I just hate sitting around doing nothing all day (which is one of these reason I don’t like my job at this point).

Unfortunately, getting freelancing work is proving to be difficult. Since I started looking a couple months ago, I’ve only had about 3 assignments so far. I’ve been really trying to get more into literary translation as opposed to technical translation, so I have my work cut out for me. It’s pretty difficult and although I’m confident in my skill, its mostly getting your foot in the door and making connections that counts. Everytime I think I’ve made progress theres another set back. And although I’ve ‘passed’ into two different companies, I still haven’t gotten any assignments yet. I’m now waiting for communication from a 3rd which, if I pass would honestly be awesome, but its taking a long time to hear back even about submitting work so I feel like its going to be at least a month or two until some real progress is made. *sigh*

So now let me talk about whats going on with my better half.
At this point Ryohei has completed all but one of his 7 written tests. (The last one is in 3 weeks on Sunday and he has to go all the way to Niigata for it) From what we know so far:
Passed 1
Waiting for results 2
Failed 3

We’ll find out the results of the last two on Tuesday and Friday next week.

As I said, Ryohei did pass the Court Officer test and he has his final test – an interview on Monday the 7th. So he’ll be off to Tokyo AGAIN this coming weekend. Leaving Sunday and coming back on Monday night. This interview is apparently very important as its about ½ of his final score. The score you receive ranges from S to E. Anyone with a D or E automatically fails, but with a C and above the combined score of the interview and written test are added to select the top 200-250 or so who will be offered a placement. As I said before Ryohei passed the test by only one or 2 points so he will probably need at least an A score to pass the final test and get hired. He has had two practice interviews so far and received a B and an A on them. I am just hoping that he can keep up the good work and impress his real interviewers on Monday. I do have a lot of faith in him on this though.

Anyone who has met Ryohei knows what a likeable and good guy that he is. He’s got a very good head on his shoulders for his age and so many people have commented to me on his manners and maturity. And to top it off, the test is Tanabata which is a holiday were supposedly your wishes will be granted so we are both taking that as a really good sign.

After he comes back from his interview on the 7th, he’s going to start looking for a short term job so he can get some cash and buy a used laptop since he’s had to share mine with me for the past 4 months! (source of irritation for both of us)

We won’t know the scores of his last two tests until next week so from there we will have a better picture of how the rest of the summer is going to pan out. If he passes the Tax Officer test he’ll have an interview in Osaka at the end of July, if he passes the Niigata test he’ll have an interview in mid July and another one in the beginning of August.

I’m just waiting for this to be all over.
If you have any good luck vibes or happy thoughts please please send them to Ryohei on Monday at around 10am!

2 Responses to "Update on Life in General"

I am so sad I wasn`t in Kanto to meet up with you! ZANNEN! Next year though we will for sure! It sounded like you were very busy, but had a fun time!

I am happy to hear that Ryohei is almost done. Wish him the best with his interview! I am sure he will do brilliantly! He has done so well already!

3 assignments so far is better than none! Keep it up and it will all come together. I totally understand what you mean when you talk about your job- job satisfaction (and actually having something to do) is a big part of working!

Good to see an update from you Sara! Oh, have you asked some of the fellow bloggers that do translation if they have any contacts? One blog, geishainterrupted i think it is does some literary translation work and might know somebody!

Best of luck

I am so sad I wasn`t in Kanto to meet up with you! ZANNEN! Next year though we will for sure! It sounded like you were very busy, but had a fun time!

I am happy to hear that Ryohei is almost done. Wish him the best with his interview! I am sure he will do brilliantly! He has done so well already!

3 assignments so far is better than none! Keep it up and it will all come together. I totally understand what you mean when you talk about your job- job satisfaction (and actually having something to do) is a big part of working!

Good to see an update from you Sara! Oh, have you asked some of the fellow bloggers that do translation if they have any contacts? One blog, geishainterrupted i think it is does some literary translation work and might know somebody!

Best of luck

Comments are closed.

