Once Upon a Tanbo

Allo Allo

Posted on: July 11, 2008

Well its time for another glimpse into the ever changing (boring) soap opera that is my life. More good news to report! We found out Tuesday morning that Ryohei passed another one of his first round tests!! Yay! I’m so proud of him… although he also passed by about one point on this one so that means a lot of pressure on the interview. (Its scheduled for the last week of the month)

Speaking of interviews, I did mention it in my comment on the last entry but he said that he thinks he did a pretty good job. I have a feeling he will pass… but unfortunately just passing does not get you a job. They “pass” way more people than they have jobs for since people drop out for another test they’ve passed.

Explanation time (feel free to pass this if its of no interest)

Lets say they are looking to hire about 200 people… they may pass more than 500 people or so. Of course a lot of the top 200 pass a lot of the other tests and will hold out for other komuin jobs, so that leaves a lot of empty spaces, but I’d say that those below #300 or so probably won’t be hired and will have to go through the whole process again in another year. This is why Ryoheis low written test score may hurt him since if he doesn’t do super good on the interview he may be at the bottom of the pack despite all his hard work. Anyways… if he gets an S or A its in the bag, B and he’s got a decent chance depending on how many drop out (but most likely we wouldn’t be going to Niigata where he requested). If he gets a C he would be at the bottom of the applicants pool, and probably… wouldn’t get hired. (I honestly doubt he got a D or an E but in that case he would be automatically disqualified) We’ll find out everything on August 14th… just about one month away!

So we’ve now gotten all the results back for the first round tests he’s done so far. He’s passed 2 and not passed 4. He has one more for his hometowns city hall in two weeks. We won’t know the results of that for a while though, so pretty much we are coming to the end of it all.

Oh, for those of you who don’t know since I posted it all over Facebook and FWC, Ryohei found a mukade (read giant poisonous centipede) in our apartment yesterday. He killed it but now our house doesn’t feel quite as safe to me!! I’m hoping that it was just a fluke and NO MORE WILL COME. I HATE HATE HATE bugs… I think I made that perfectly clear in my post a couple days ago.

Alright, lastly – I finalllllllly have made some progress in pursuing my freelance “big fish.” I sent in a submission to a major US publisher yesterday and will hear back from them in about 2-3 weeks if I can work on their literary translation projects. As.. I am leaning more and more towards leaving my job earlier than planned (more on that in a later post) having steady incoming translation work would be so so so so good.

Alright well, it seems like things, mukade aside, are looking up for now!
Tata~

9 Responses to "Allo Allo"

I have never seen a mukade in real life! Thank god! Yucky yucky! I hope you don`t find anymore!

Tell us more about your plans to leave your job early?!? Interesting! The translating stuff you have done so far sounds awesome! I am so happy for you!

Glad to hear Ryohei did well on his interview! He will be pleased I am sure when things are over!!!

How are the plans for going to America at Christmas time coming along? Any chance of you guys coming to Australia next May??? For the wedding?

Have a good weekend babe!

Congratulations to Ryohei for passing the other exam!!

And I’m so glad that the translating projects are starting to look up! I’m sure that it is very relieving for you!

good to hear that apart from the mukade, things are looking up for you. Hope you get a positive response from the US publishers!

And fingers crossed for Ryohei – 頑張れ. Only one more month and then at least you will know where you stand. Hang in there guys!

Glad to hear things are looking up (centipedes asides). You both deserve it!

Lulu – I still haven’t “seen” one either.. but just the thought of one in my house gives me full body shivers!! By the way – if you wanted me there I would seriously love to visit you in Australia for your wedding!! Providing I’m money and health issues are not a problem!

Nay – Thank you so much for all your support!! I wish that we would be in Niigata at the same time you are going up to see the fireworks. Actually one of the places Ryohei may be placed is Shizuoka.. so depending we could end up really close!

TJ – Thanks so much!!! One month still seems like a long long time! But we have obon vacation and stuff in there so hopefully it will go by quickly!

Im crossing my fingers for the publishers too! I’ll be sure and write as soon as I hear anything.

Christelle – Awwww 🙂 I hope things are going well on your end too!! If we do end up in Niigata I’d love to come and visit the 3 of you once we get settled in!

Great news for both you and Ryohei!! I can’t wait to hear more. 🙂

Congratulations! You have both had such a rough ride and wonderful that things are looking up.”Blah” to the system though;)

Kuri – Thank you so much!! I never would have started looking for honyaku stuff so early if it hadn’t been for all your helpful advice!!

Marianne – Thanks so much!!! Yah about system! You husband is a komuin too! Is he a city hall employee or a kokka komuin?

Comments are closed.

