Once Upon a Tanbo

Already August?

Posted on: August 4, 2008

Its very hot! Sometimes I wish that I was the opposite of a bear so that I could just hibernate all through the summer months. In particular, the span of mid-July through mid-September.

Thankfully my A/C unit which was on permanent strike last summer, is being semi-well behaved for the most part and I’m able to turn it on for an hour or two while I’m going to bed since hot sticky body in bed means no sleep. I’m ok with just a fan while I’m up and about but I already have a hard time getting to sleep. (I’m one of those sleep-thinkers, the type who needs to get all the static and events of the day out of my brain before I sleep… if I’m really tired I can fall asleep within 5-10 minutes of going to bed, but some days it can take upwards of 2-3 hours) So added heat makes it even harder to relax.

I would have to say that last week, which if you noticed had no posts from me, was honestly hell on earth. I reached quite a low last week between not hearing back from my prospective company, the heat, and of course, soul-sucking work (or, perhaps not work). I used some of my vacation just to take off the afternoon on Friday because I couldn’t stand to be sitting at my desk doing absolutely nothing for one more second.

This week I am hoping will be a little better. For one thing, July is OVER. And this month, will be when everything goes awesome or terrible. We’ll hear back in only a week and a half about how Ryohei’s first test went. We’re also leaving for our week long vacation on Friday night, even if it is only up to the PILs, anything that gets me away for a while is greatly appreciated. I’m also hoping that I’ll hear back from the publishing company by the end of the week, but we’ll see. I don’t want to get too hung up on it anymore because of the crushing disappointment that I had every day I woke up to an empty inbox last week.

At least I figure maybe it will be good news when I do hear back… since if my work was totally awful I would have received the polite “thanks but no thanks” mail by this point. I sent in an email last week to my contact asking how things are going and haven’t heard back yet so I’m assuming if they didn’t like my work I would have heard back then. I’m just hoping I haven’t heard anything because they are trying to get paperwork/permission and stuff from the higher ups and/or trying to find me a project to work on before they get back to me. (Yes, I may be over thinking things, but I really have no patience and if it took all this time just to hear that I failed I’m going to be really frustrated)

Also coming up this week is my second Japanniversary. I landed at Narita on August 6, 2006. Hard to believe that two years have passed since I first arrived. But here I am… and it doesn’t seem like I’ll be going back anytime soon.

I already know that this month is going to be a pretty crazy one, so keep tuning in to my blog as I’ll be updating as soon as I hear stuff. Keeping my fingers crossed that by the end of the month both Ryohei and I will have our respective “jobs” lined up, I’ll have turned in my letter of resignation, and we’ll be starting to look at options for moving and a new apartment in whatever city we get placed!

11 Responses to "Already August?"

Sara, I am getting cramps here – all my fingers and toes are crossed for you and Ryohei (hehe). At least this month you will have some answers, and the waiting game will come to an end finally.
Happy 2nd Japanniversary for Wednesday – are you breaking out the champers (or sushi, lol) to celebrate?

Happy Japanniversary Sara!!! : )

And I hope this month is a good one for you and Ryohei! I will be hoping for good news for you two!!! And since you’ve got your fingers crossed Sara, I’ll join you and cross mine as well!!! : )

Everything (including my eyes) is crossed wishing you both the best while you wait for your news! I hope everything works out brilliantly! Can`t wait for updates and If I don`t speak to you before Friday then have a good trip to Niigata!

Wow, sure looks like you’ve got lots of people sending positive vibes your way- count me in on that too! This probably doesn’t really help, but all of this challenging time is actually character building and just keep thinking to yourself if I can do this, I can do anything (then remember that at the next challenging phase).

TJ – Thanks!!! Yah.. I was thinking maybe I should do something nice to celebrate, but maybe I’ll wait until we are up in Niigata and drink some famous 名物 sake!!

Gina – Thank you so much!! I appreciate the support and positive energy!

TJ – Thanks!!! Yah.. I was thinking maybe I should do something nice to celebrate, but maybe I’ll wait until we are up in Niigata and drink some famous 名物 sake!!

Gina – Thank you so much!! I appreciate the support and positive energy!

Lulu – Thanks!! I will update here if anything happens before I leave, but I don’t know how great my net access will be from Ryohei’s parents!! Don’t cross your eyes too long or they might just stay that way 😉

Christelle – Yes, I am really really greatful for the support that everyone has been giving me throught this blog. I’m just hoping that once this is all over, life will be challenge free.. at least for a little while!

Wishing you the best of luck in the coming weeks Sarah!

From experience, translation can be a very frustrating field to break into. I haven’t done much translating since I got married, but I used to freelance a lot and getting jobs took a lot of persistence and patience. Some jobs/agencies you’d hear nothing from and then all of a sudden they’d randomly want you for a job. You can’t get too discouraged either, it’s like writing. I used to major in film, and specialized in screen-writing. One of my teachers once said that until you can wallpaper your bathroom with rejection letters, you haven’t even begun your career, lol. I don’t think translation is quite *that* tough! But still, this project is the first of many, if translation is really what you want to do, you’re more than capable and I’m SURE it’ll work out!

Jess – Thanks for the encouragement, I really enjoyed that anticdote (sp?) So far I haven't been rejected by any place I've replied to… (2 agencies and 2 companies) but despite that, there hasn't been too much work. I know its what I want to do, so I don't plan to give up.. but in the industry that I'm mainly looking to get in to theres not so much work for a lot of people.

Anyways… more than the rejection I'm just sick of waiting. A month is just painful >.<

Hope to read more about your parents visit on your blog!

Thinking of you and also sending lots of good luck and happy vibes.Not long to go now until you know and knowing is better than not knowing,ne!

Marianne – I agree!! Thing’s aren’t looking too great for me.. but I have high hopes for Ryo!

Comments are closed.

