Once Upon a Tanbo

Back from Niigata

Posted on: August 16, 2008

Tadaima!

We just got back from Niigata this morning. I didn’t have much internet access while I was at Ryohei’s parents so I’m way behind on checking blogs as well as posting in my own. I do plan to do a re-cap of our trip, but I’ll wait until I’m at work because it will be long and a good way to kill some time there.

Right now I’ll just generally update on the state of things for us. Both bad and good news.
Well first the bad news, Ryohei didn’t pass the final stage of the court officer test. His name wasn’t on the final list. As you can imagine we had both thought he did really well, so it was a bit of a shock. Thursday was a pretty rough day, and I cried most of it.

But besides that there has been good news as well.
First of all Ryohei found out that he passed the first round test for this local city hall. He will have an interview in about 3 weeks for it. Actually we got in a bit of a fight over it, because I’ve been pretty vocal that I don’t want to live in the middle of nowhere for the rest of my life, so we decided that if that does end up being where he will work for the first 4-5 years we will move to Nagaoka City (second largest city in Niigata) and he will commute 35-40 minutes to work everyday. However, there is another piece of good news. Ryohei received a call from the other agency he passed, the tax center. Apparently they call you a couple weeks before results come out to make sure you are still interested. Getting the call doesn’t mean you’ve passed 100% but it does show that they have interest in you. Not only that but it came from his number one choice region which means if he passed we would be living in (Nagano, Niigata, Gunma, Saitama, Tochigi, or Ibaraki) Not bad! Anyways we are hopeful for the tax center (it actually pays the best of all komuin, but there is some overtime grrr…)

And I also had some good news!! I finally heard back from the major publishing agency, apparently they really liked my work!! However, right now they don’t have anything available but my contact said that my name was put in the “good” file and will be showed to editors who are looking for a new translator for their projects. He also said to check back in every once in a while if I don’t hear anything, which is also good. So… it may be a couple months but seems like eventually I may get work from this company!

Anyways like I said this is just an update on us! Niigata trip will be up in a couple days!

5 Responses to "Back from Niigata"

Oh Sara, while there was definitely good news in the post I know how disapointed both you and Ryohei must be about the court officers test!!!

I am so glad though that there was good news too! The translation company news was great- I know you were sweating on it and I am so glad it is all happening for you!

I send you a quick message on facebook the other day so update me when you get a chance! Back to work Monday?

Looking fowward to Niigata pictures! Did catch a couple that Ryohei put up on facebook though which was lovely! Talk soon!

I’m sorry that things aren’t working out exactly how you had planned… I’m sure this is a very trying and stressful time for both of you. But as Lulu said there has also been good news as well – so try to make sure you focus on those!! I’m sure things will work out in the end – hang in there.

Can’t wait to hear about your Niigata trip!

Hey, I count three bits of good news and only one bit of bad news, so the good news wins in my book! yay!

Looking forward to hearing about niigata!

Lulu – Yah, needless to say that we were pretty bummed. And well it just was not a great day.. I’ll write more about it in my Niigata post! I’m excited about the translation news as well… however I have a feeling I’m not going to hear for a while.

Nay – Yah… I really wish the stress would just end. To be honest Ryoheis parents weren’t helping either but that is also for the Niigata post.

Jess – Yup! 3 bits of good news! But they all mean more waiting. I am so tired of it all… lol

Bit late as usual but congratulations on the good news and so sorry about the other “bit”;).But I also agree that the good outweighs the bad and even though it means more waiting around,you will get through it.

Comments are closed.

