Once Upon a Tanbo

Happiness is a cup of carmel milk tea

Posted on: September 27, 2008

Finnnnnally it is Saturday! About time huh? I’ve been waiting for the weekend all week. For some reason this month has gone by really fast. Next week will begin the start of October my favorite month of all time!! For such reasons as my birthday and Ryohei and my anniversary!!

Right now I’m sipping some Carmel milk tea and just enjoying the light breeze coming in! The other night Ryohei and I were comparing sunglasses. We tried on each others sunglasses and decided that we were going to switch since his look better on me and mine look better on him!!

We even took pictures to compare!

What do you think? He is the owner of the light yellow sunglasses and I am the owner of the black ones.. but he told me he thinks the black ones are too big for my face… any female opinions out there?

Also some good(?) news… I may be getting my first big translation assignment. I submitted a sample through my agency and while I was initially told they were going with someone else, I just got an email yesterday saying they’ve decided to submit mine to the publisher for further review… It would be a really big break… a series of novels.. that would probably take me a year or so to complete in entirety… anyways still not sure but this is a big step! Farther than I’ve gotten before πŸ™‚ I’ll know more in another week or so?

Anyways thats about it for now!!

20 Responses to "Happiness is a cup of carmel milk tea"

Hey Sarah! Loving lovely, and I adore your new profile picture- looking swanky.

Here is my professional opinion- the glasses should be even bigger for your face shape giving it a more narrow look but if your wore your hair like you did in your profile picture it would make the glasses appear even larger, but I think your husband looks great with both but I think the narrow glasses look better on you.. does that make sense.

BTW, would you mind sending me information on studying for the JPLT and translation information.

If you get that translation gig does that mean you can quit? I hope you get it and hope it pays well too!!!

Girl Japan – Hey! What information exactly are you interested in? Study book recommendations? Can you message me on facebook?

I sure can- Well I think I have you in my facebook.. let me give it a try = ) and I’ll send you my e-mail address that way = ) I thought you were able to get my addy here….opps… brb

Congratulations on the possible big break!! I hope it works out!! No advice on the sunglasses topic though – my fashion sense is shocking and I never ever wear glasses!

Hmm, I think I agree with Ryohei about the sunglasses. I like the small yellow ones on you better. Ryohei looks like a bit of a gangster with the big black ones on though!

I’ve got my fingers crossed on the translation job. Definitely a big step, way to go on being submitted, whether you get the job or not that’s worthy of congrats in and of itself!

Nay – Thanks!! I’ll keep you posted!

Jess – Haha thanks!! His are more expensive than mine bwahaha so I guess I lucked out πŸ˜‰

Happy clapping from Kyushu about the possible translation job! Even if you don’t get this job, the further review means that the company you’re going through will now have you in a different category, rather than just the general pool. That’s a great step!!

BTW, I emailed you a few days ago at …hotmail.com and left a message on your cell. I hope you got the messages!

i *love* your hair in your new profile picture!!! adorable and chic. (i MAY be watching too much next top model and/or project runway because i’m starting to use words like chic. haha)

and congratulations on the “further reivew”!!

I wanted to say your hair really looks fabulous, I sent you mail via facebook (which I almost never sign into)

Hope you get it!

I love your new profile pic also!!! Did you straighten it with a straightener or blowdryer?

I love your curls too though- I am so jealous because I will never have curls! Even when I did dancing when I was younger (hard to beleive huh?!) and had to curl my hair it always fell right out!

I don`t think the glasses are too big for you but actually just too dark for you maybe. You are fair like me and I always have to wear redish/brownish frames for them to work on me- but I have really large ones and small ones! I need to get some proper lenses in my sunnies though because driving is getting a little dangerous! ehhhhh!

As for the translation job- best of luck!!!!! It would be soooooooo great if you got it. Would you quit? What novels are they? Can you tell us?

Talk soon!!!

Hi there! I`m really sorry for getting back to you so slowly, its been a hectic week since I`ve been back here in Japan. So you are in the Minakami area? Its a beautiful area for sure and once you meet some people I hope you`ll really like it there. I do happen to know only a few people around there any more…seems like all my friends just cleared out but I could put you in contact with a few really nice people if you are interested. What area are you living in? I was a JET in Niiharu-mura for three years and lived near Takumino-sato and my husband is from Showa-mura. Congrats on your anniversary! You are a very nice couple!

Hi there! I`m really sorry for getting back to you so slowly, its been a hectic week since I`ve been back here in Japan. So you are in the Minakami area? Its a beautiful area for sure and once you meet some people I hope you`ll really like it there. I do happen to know only a few people around there any more…seems like all my friends just cleared out but I could put you in contact with a few really nice people if you are interested. What area are you living in? I was a JET in Niiharu-mura for three years and lived near Takumino-sato and my husband is from Showa-mura. Congrats on your anniversary! You are a very nice couple!

Kuri – Hey sorry I missed your call 😦 Hopefully this is a big step!! I've been waiting 4 months.. but I can't get too excited until I sign my contract!! I'm sad I missed your call :/ I think it must of come when I was at work.. damn full time job >_<

Jo – Thanks!! Hahaha… I'll have to admit that was the day I first got my haircut so its professionally styled. *sigh* I can never get it like that by myself πŸ™‚ I LOVE Top Model and Runway… LOVE LOVE LOVE! Are you watching this seasons?

Girl Japan – Ok!! I will write back then!! Keep your eyes out for it

Kuri – Hey sorry I missed your call 😦 Hopefully this is a big step!! I've been waiting 4 months.. but I can't get too excited until I sign my contract!! I'm sad I missed your call :/ I think it must of come when I was at work.. damn full time job >_<

Jo – Thanks!! Hahaha… I'll have to admit that was the day I first got my haircut so its professionally styled. *sigh* I can never get it like that by myself πŸ™‚ I LOVE Top Model and Runway… LOVE LOVE LOVE! Are you watching this seasons?

Girl Japan – Ok!! I will write back then!! Keep your eyes out for it

Lulu – Like I said unfortunately it is professionally styled hair… try as I might I can just not repeat it 😦 😦
I’m indifferent on the curls… to me they look a little bit “young” but sometimes if they curl just right I like them! It’s complicated huh!

I can give vague details on the project… like the publisher but I can’t give away the title or plot until its released by the publisher πŸ™‚

Life in Japan – Hey I will be very close. You know the Minami Uonuma area I’m sure right? I think its like less than an hour away? Actually my husbands grandma is from Gunma so I think we will def. be visiting the inaka area quite a bit.. although I’m not quite sure where! I would love to be put in contact with people.. as moving to a place where I don’t know a lot of people is a little lonely… sounds like you had a great time in that region though!! I’ve been enjoying reading your blog about summer as well! You know Christelle right? Its so interesting how all us foreign wives end up connecting πŸ™‚

Lulu – Like I said unfortunately it is professionally styled hair… try as I might I can just not repeat it 😦 😦
I’m indifferent on the curls… to me they look a little bit “young” but sometimes if they curl just right I like them! It’s complicated huh!

I can give vague details on the project… like the publisher but I can’t give away the title or plot until its released by the publisher πŸ™‚

Life in Japan – Hey I will be very close. You know the Minami Uonuma area I’m sure right? I think its like less than an hour away? Actually my husbands grandma is from Gunma so I think we will def. be visiting the inaka area quite a bit.. although I’m not quite sure where! I would love to be put in contact with people.. as moving to a place where I don’t know a lot of people is a little lonely… sounds like you had a great time in that region though!! I’ve been enjoying reading your blog about summer as well! You know Christelle right? Its so interesting how all us foreign wives end up connecting πŸ™‚

Am too thinking new profile pic very style.

Sunglasses – Ryohei looks good in both I think but you look nicer in the yellow ones I think. Which sucks, cause black goes with so much more.

Translation job sounds both big but fab. Am very jealous. I just do crap homepage bollocks. A whole entire novel!!! with your name as translater!!! Very cool.

Gaijin Wife – Thanks!! Once again my hair stylist deserves most of the credit. Boo hoo ;_;

Seems general consensus is for the yellow ones!! Its ok… I will make them match… of course probably won’t be needing sunglasses for another… 9 months…

I’m hopeful but we will see… I’m just looking forward to having something to do!!

Sarah, I think you can still pull it off, ceramic iron or any iron with a large barrel will do the trick (I use National) and I love big curls, curls too.. you are a splitting image of Kat…. you wear this style very well! You vixen you..

Sarah, I think you can still pull it off, ceramic iron or any iron with a large barrel will do the trick (I use National) and I love big curls, curls too.. you are a splitting image of Kat…. you wear this style very well! You vixen you..

Comments are closed.

