Once Upon a Tanbo

Another day older…

Posted on: October 15, 2008

I’m working on my post from my visit to Shizuoka – it IS coming – but just taking a little longer to put everything together than I thought, so it will be up before the end of the week I promise!

In the meantime, I woke up this morning and somehow another year added itself to my age?! What was that all about… hahaha. I’m kidding. I’m not at the point where birthdays depress me, but its more of, if I can look back on that year and feel proud of myself/like I accomplished something. Unfortunately, this year was very lacking in terms of personal development. I’m pretty much where I am last year with a couple changes.

Work is the same – but I have made “efforts” to start translation, I had told myself I really wanted to have a project by my birthday but it looks like that goal has failed 😦 I do have a couple of prospects on the horizen since I am still waiting to hear back on the novel and I’ve heard there may be another one I am being recommended for, but theres nothing concrete.

I guess that “this year” will be my big year of change. By my 26th birthday I will have finished my current job, have made a big move to niigata, gotten at least a decent project or two in translation, and *crossing fingers* hopefully have a new addition to our family, or at least one on the way.

After our intial “scare” last month, we’ve decided to start trying for a baby – I’m not sure how fast that’ll come, but its in the works now. I’m not sure how much I’ll write about it in the blog, but maybe once in a while there will be a reference to something .( And yes I am on vitamins/folic acid since early last month.)

So that is that I guess! Off to work ;_;

12 Responses to "Another day older…"

Happy Birthday!
My 25th year was similar to yours- finished JET, moved half way across the country, got married and 3 months after I turned 26 I had a baby. I like the idea of thinking about years in terms of accomplishments. How was the cake? any pictures? πŸ˜‰

Oh wow, that is remarkably similar!! Hope things work out for me as well as they did/are for you!!

Cake was lovely!! I will post pictures along with the post about Shizuoka! I think Ryohei has zangyo Thursday nights so that will give me some time to set down and get it done properly!

ohh. Sara, I am right there with you, perhaps this time next year, we will have a little tot running around, I need to find a nanny, no way I can bake, school, work.. yadda, yadda.

Happy B-day btw! Yes, let’s see cake pictures!!! Did you ladies have fun, fun? Too bad all of us are not close to each other, we could visit more often!

Happy Birthday Sara! 25 is a good year, you’re properly in your mid-20s. πŸ™‚ I hope it brings everything you desire!

Girl Japan – Thanks for the birthday wishes!! Its been ok so far (middle of the work week go figure) It would be nice to meet up more often!! It would be nice to have a yearly event of somesort!

Jess – Thank you!! My husband told this morning that if I round now I am 30 (……) *sigh* "Age is just a number" <- my new mantra

Happy Birthday Sara! I think taking stock on your birthday and reevaluating your goals is a great idea.

I vaguely remember my 25th birthday. I was starting back at University after taking a couple of years off to work. I think I felt “old” which is hilarious when I look back on it. Anyhoo, have a fantastic day!

Happy Birthday! When I was 25 I hadn’t even thought of coming to Japan yet (got here when I was 26). Sounds like there’s lots of good and exciting things in store for you this year. And yes, I’m right near Koriyama, hop on that bus anytime and come visit us!

Happy Birthday Sara!!! : )

Happy Birthday Sara – I hope you are having a fantastic day!!! I can’t wait to see pictures of the cake Ryohei bought for you!!

Babies, babies, babies!! Good luck and have fun trying!!! rofl! We will be right behind you in the trying department (well from January anyway!)

Happy 25th Birthday Sara-chan!

*cue birthday music and trumpets*

Hope, despite having to work, you had a brilliant day! The cake sounds (and looks!) devine!

β˜†β˜†β˜†happy birthday!!!β˜†β˜†β˜†

Tigermama – Thanks!!! 25 does feel old, compared to say… 18 (lol)

Christelle – Yay!! Looking forward to it!! Thanks for the birthday wishes!

Gina – Thank you!

Nay – The cake was yummy!! Actually so was the one you guys got for me! I was pretty blessed in the yumminess department this year! Gosh… scary to think the two of us may have little ones this time next year!!

Lulu – San Kyu! The cake was tres oishii (mixing french and japanese?)

Jo – Thanks!! Nice use of star marks!

Comments are closed.

