Once Upon a Tanbo

Anniversary Date

Posted on: October 29, 2008

Today Ryohei and I went on a date for our 2 year Anniversary to Kobe’s Nunobiki Herb Garden! It was a lot of fun and I would definitely recommend it as a datespot/day trip for anyone in the area!

I actually got to take off a day of work and got free entry/discounts on food since I am worker for the city. It was such a good deal! (And it was nice to take off a Wednesday!)

We slept in and left the house around 11:30pm it only took about 30 minutes by train to get to Shinkobe Station where the cable cars to go the park take off. We rode a 10 minute cable car with an awesome view of Kobe! When we first got there I wanted to go shopping at the gift shop but Ryohei INISTED we had to eat because he was starving. So we went to the special Herb Garden Buffet. It was absolutely delicious. All fresh vegetables and meats flavored with herbs freshly picked from the garden. They even had herb sherbert!! I like the lavender and rose hips one while Ryohei liked the basil and lemongrass ones!! There was also a wonder kabocha with cinnamon and parsley which I will try to create (most likely unsuccessfully) at home later on.

After stuffing ourselves with good for you and yummy food, we went to the gift shop to do a little shopping. I really wanted to buy some potted herbs to take home with me, but we don’t get a lot of light in the apartment and winter is coming up, so we’ve decided to wait until we get settled in Niigata. I am looking forward to having a few pots of basil, rosemary, thyme, fennel, sage etc for cooking in the future!

We end up getting yummy smelling stuff. I got a small pot of jasmine perfume. It smells just like blooming night Jasmine and I love it! Ryohei was obbsessed with everything yuzu and got a citrusy hand lotion.

After that we walked around the herb garden and took our time checking out all the herbs and just enjoying the beautiful day. Since it was a weekday there weren’t many people there which was really nice. Just a few older folks and one or two young couples with kids.

We then went to a spice grinding exhibit – it was really fun! I really want to get a mortar and pestal and ground some of my own spices. It will give me something to do on the cold days of winter in Niigata (lol)

Even though we had only eaten a few hours earlier we stumbled upon a small cafe – with scones!!! And cheap too! We got a plate with two small sized scones with berry jam and cream for only 300 yen. After reading all of Gaijin Wife’s posts about scones I had been craving them and we decided to split it! It was Ryohei’s first time to try them but it seems that he enjoyed them too so hopefully when we get our oven I will make some and we will have a proper tea time!

After our short break we strolled around some more and found a grassy knoll to sit on. And it was the first time in so long… it made me feel really nostalgic for my days as a kid growing up and going to parks back home. It was really beautiful though.

Anyways it was a really nice date! I’d love to go back again some time!
Of course I took pictures!

If you are interested here is my album from facebook – its public access so just click on the link and check it out!!

Piccies!

10 Responses to "Anniversary Date"

So You’re the people I see walking around all lovey and coupley on weekdays making us harried housewives racing to the bank feel so bereft and lonely!

Just kidding, what a great date. Yummy food to boot! Will you have a garden in Niigata?

So You’re the people I see walking around all lovey and coupley on weekdays making us harried housewives racing to the bank feel so bereft and lonely!

Just kidding, what a great date. Yummy food to boot! Will you have a garden in Niigata?

Haha – believe me this is hardly the usual… since we are both working. IT was nice to take a day off and go out though. Sadly, I shouldn’t get used to it 😉

I’d like to have a garden in Niigata.. however since we’ll be living in an apartment complex for the first few years, it will probably only consist of a few pots of herbs for cooking on the balacony.

Haha – believe me this is hardly the usual… since we are both working. IT was nice to take a day off and go out though. Sadly, I shouldn’t get used to it 😉

I’d like to have a garden in Niigata.. however since we’ll be living in an apartment complex for the first few years, it will probably only consist of a few pots of herbs for cooking on the balacony.

How darling Sara, what a smitten picture the between the two of you, two of you together.. me too, when I read Gaijin Wife’s post about scones I had to make and eat them.. I could not be patient. A spice grinding exhibit, that sounds exciting Sara. Happy Anniversary!

How darling Sara, what a smitten picture the between the two of you, two of you together.. me too, when I read Gaijin Wife’s post about scones I had to make and eat them.. I could not be patient. A spice grinding exhibit, that sounds exciting Sara. Happy Anniversary!

sounds like a wonderful date!

sounds like a wonderful date!

Sounds like fun! Enjoy the dates while you still can, once you have kids they will be few and far between … my husband and have only gone out together twice since my son was born, lol. 😛

Sounds like you both had a lovely day with yummy food, shopping and great views- could you ask for more?

It is nice to have rabu rabu date days huh?!

Off to check out the pictures!

Comments are closed.

