Once Upon a Tanbo

Winter is coming!

Posted on: November 11, 2008

Wow… its been a long time since I updated… not just hastily posted up a picture of a crayon. I have had the work week from hell.

The last 6 days or so we’ve had a group of 70 people from Europe visiting and pretty much I’ve been pulling “Japanese hours” aka working at least 14-16 hours a day including weekends!! (ARRGG!!)

Well thankfully today is the last of it. I am now going to the second “see off” day. Yes there were two.. so that meant getting up almost an hour earlier than usual. *sigh*
Oh well.

Lately has been so uneventful.
I’ve been LOVING sweet potatos lately though and in the last week or so have made two sweet potato stew/soups.

Dutch Apple Juice Based Tomato and Sweet Potato Stew

Winter Sweet Potato and Lentil Soup (with crusty bread!)

Yummm I love cooking in winter and fall because I like hearty foods.

This month is going by fast! The next two weeks are semi uneventful, but then I will be off to Tokyo for a business meeting and meeting up with two blog friends!!! Yay!

Also Thanksgiving is coming up and we have plans to go out with some friends for Thanksgiving dinner, same as last year.

Ok gotta be out the door in three mins!!

5 Responses to "Winter is coming!"

お疲れ様. Sounds like last week was pretty exhausting for you! I hope that from this week, work is a little less busy!

Your dinners look delicious!! I love winter foods!

Oh they look so yummy! I hated soup as a kid but am really really getting into it now! We are heading into summer here though…so no hearty foods for awhile.

Glad that the busy period of work is over and that you can relax a bit now heading into the holiday season.

Was great talking to you last night- speak again soon!

ps: which two friends are you meeting in Tokyo? T & who?

Oh they look so yummy! I hated soup as a kid but am really really getting into it now! We are heading into summer here though…so no hearty foods for awhile.

Glad that the busy period of work is over and that you can relax a bit now heading into the holiday season.

Was great talking to you last night- speak again soon!

ps: which two friends are you meeting in Tokyo? T & who?

Nay – Thanks!! I’m hoping to make something yummy for you and Naoki when you come visit!

Lulu – Yah I don’t like eating much in the summer – TOO HOT! It was great speaking to you too! We should do it more often!

I’ll be meeting T and Jo from jumping overboard – actually she is hosting me for two nights!! Yay!

Sara,
Thanks for your comment on my blog; it’s always reassuring to know I’m not alone and that others have a similar experience. The Osaka Obaachans. Who knew they had it in them? I think I was particularly surprised because my MIL is pretty much the exact opposite of touchy-feely. She’ll occasionally pick up and hold my daughter, but it’s fairly rare (to be fair, I’m using my American experience and background as a comparison and that may be excessive in the other direction!).

This is a great time of year for me as I LOVE sweet potatoes too. Your lentil soup sounded delicious.

One of these days I’ll surely catch up with some folks in the Osaka/Kobe area…again, nice to know I’m not alone out here!

Comments are closed.

