Once Upon a Tanbo

*sigh* I’m no good at keeping secrets

Posted on: November 16, 2008

I have been debating over the timing of this post for a few days now.
This being the first time and all, I really have no idea what to expect and in all honesty there really isn’t anything else I feel like writing about of late. Life has pretty much been totally boring with a side of disappointment whenever I think about how crappily my ventures into translation are going. But lets NOT thing of that…

Anyways some of you may know for various reasons, but I found out last week that I am pregnant. (cue gasps of horror and perhaps excitement) A little bit shocked that on the first go it happened, I was expecting months, maybe even years of trying – but I guess that we are lucky?

Anyways jellybean is still fairly new but I don’t have any reason to think it will be going anywhere, but still i thought maybe I should wait longer… but then again I know if something does happen this would be the one place that I want to talk about it.

Surprisingly in the last week or so that I’ve known I’ve gotten pretty much all my c*** together. I have a clinic here in Kobe, one in Niigata, and pretty much figured out the logistics of what will be happening after our move. (Means a bit longer stay at the in-laws than I was expecting, but I’m not too worried about it)

I feel comfortable posting here, but I’d really like this to stay off facebook since I have family and friends (and exs) on there that I’m not quite ready to face the barage of questions and comments. So please respect my wishes and keep any comments to this blog or to private type messages.

I’m afraid that this blog may be taken over by pregnancy and baby related posts now and that perhaps some people won’t want to read that kind of stuff…

Oh by the way, I’m due on July 21 (Umi no Hi) and I have no gut instincts either way on what little jellybean will be. Ryohei is over the moon and always tells me belly “I’m off to work” and “Good night” Very cute! Also – no horrible symptoms or morning sickness of yet but its still pretty early!

Honestly, reality hasn’t set in yet… so I guess its a good thing I still have about 8 months left to get used to it all.

29 Responses to "*sigh* I’m no good at keeping secrets"

CONGRAT’s!
What great news…!!
[Found your blog months and months ago via Gina’s and have been following. :)]
We got prego on our 1st try too… both time. ๐Ÿ™‚

congratulations!!!!

I have already said congratulations to you, Ryohei & the bean but again congrats!!

I am looking forward to the blog becoming baby related!!! Will give me something to read through when I get knocked up and have to research it all! Eek!

Glad things are going well, and I am sure people will respect your privacy by not talking about it on facebook etc- that said, I would be wary and perhaps tell your parents sooner rather than later as it wouldn`t be very good if they found out from someone else and blogs are not entirely private! ( I know mine isn`t!)

It is super cute that Ryohei sais "good night" to the jellybean! (Glad the nickname has stuck- is ryohei calling it jeri mame yet?)

Heeee! Congratulations!!!!

Us too, got pregnant first shot. It was a bit of a shock as I thought it took a lot longer.

I remember the famous last words ; “If you get pregnant now, you’ll be sick when we move house.” and I said, “No one gets pregnant first time.”

Moving day, eleven weeks later. Urrrrp.

Enjoy every moment, it’s fun! And you get a lifetime of laughs after the pregnancy too… Nobody ever tells you how very funny kids are….

It will also help very much with your move to a new place. You will find that wherever you live you will make friends with other mothers with kids at similar ages, who you meet at clinics, checkups, baby circles, in the park, at kindy, at school…. Some of them are foreign, most aren’t, some are horrible bitches, most aren’t…. You WILL find some friends and a baby is a good ticket into the society you move into.

You know, I understand why you posted about your pregnancy earlier than you were going to. I mean, I guess the baby is nearly the only thing that you are thinking about at the moment!! I will probably be like you and write about it on my blog as soon as I find out, just because I want to share it with the world!! I would want to be able to write down exactly what I am feeling, not have to wait until it is ‘safe’ to do so!!

Anyway, as you already know, I am SO SO SO SO excited for you and Ryohei!!!

I can’t wait to read more about your pregnancy – I will be reading along with you the whole step of the way!

OMG that’s fantastic news!! I look forward to hearing all about your new exciting adventure!!

Alisa – Yay! Thanks for your comment, I love getting new commenters! We are really excited!! First time trying was a bit of a shock actually.. had no idea it was coming, but I guess thats for another post!

Jo – Thanks!!

Lulu – No still “mame” here! I don’t think the jelly part will catch on bu thats ok! I have a feeling my blog will be all gushy and baby related from now on unfortunately! Oh well… hopefully most will enjoy it ๐Ÿ™‚ Ryohei will be telling his parents soon and I’ll probably tell mine, or at least my mom when I get back from Tokyo the first week of Dec.

Vicky – Haha… I’ll be quite a bit further along when we move, but I think in the 1st trimester it wouldn’t be fun at all.

From what I have seen babies are very very beloved here, so hopefully I will get a few people talking to me thanks to him/her!
I’m excited and looking forward to it!! 9 months seems like such a long time to wait to meet my jellybean though!

Nay – I know… I really really wanted to wait, but I just couldn’t!! By the way, I heard pregnancies come in three.. and in our blogging world its been GW then me… will you be #3?

Jess – Thanks!! I’ll try not too make my blog too crazy and mushy!! But no idea how the pregnancy hormones will make me act!

Congratulations!!

You lasted way longer than DH if it makes you feel better- He told half his company (biggest company in tiny village so the equivalent of telling the whole damn town) that he was taking the afternoon off work because ‘My wife did a pregnancy test and we need to go to the doctor and confirm she’s pregnant!! @_@ Really!!!

We did the ‘you never get pregnant first time’ thing, too. And yup, first time. First time both times actually- despite breastfeeding!

Enjoy your pregnancy, enjoy the slow morph of your family from 2 to 3 and really, seriously, with all your might enjoy this last bit of couple time before minimum 18 year sentence as parents. ๐Ÿ˜‰

And be warned- we over did the mame-chan thing and spent the first month of Meg’s life calling her mame-chan. *^_^*

Fukases – Wow if only all you “it only takes once” people had spoken out earlier!! Well I’m pretty happy and the timing is actually pretty good considering!

We actually have suki na name at the moment so I think once we found out what we were having we’ll probably just call the baby by his/her name!

Ryohei actually hasn’t told anyone yet, I think he’s a bit shocked to be honest. Its just me running at the mouth ho-hum~!

We had a nice date today though… I suppose the countdown til none is officially starting…

I am glad all these “first time” people are speaking up also- as I was under the impression It could take awhile but it seems everyone is getting pregnant the first time! I will definitely be waiting longer to go off the pill I think!

hehe, funny what the fukusas said about calling meg mame-chan for the first month- I have a friend that still calls their 3 or 4 year old, aka as in akachan as that is what she was inside the belly! hehe!

I think what Vicky is saying is true also- been pregnant and having a baby in Niigata will help you meet people through doctors appointments, week long hospital stay when bub is born and it will help you to become “at one” with the community!!!

You will have to let us know how telling the respective parents goes- I think my parents will be quite stoked but not sure about Shun`s parents…mmmm…

Congratulations! That is such great news and it sounds like things are going well so far. I, for one, won’t mind a bit if you blog about the pregnancy and baby.

Lulu – Well when Ryohei told his mom I could hear her going “oi oi oi!” from the other side of the phone. They are a bit concerned the baby isn’t going to be able to speak Japanese (lol) But they are excited I think – I have a feeling while be getting quite a few more phone calls from them from now.

Trisha – Thanks!! Things are going pretty well!! Well I think your wish about my blogging will be answered! hehe

Congratulations and welcome to the joys of pregnancy – although I guarantee my body is getting a rougher deal third time round. Well, post baby it will at least.

I think is good to tell people early. You need a support network – and sometimes the husband (espcialy a Japanese one) just doesn’t count when you need to talk about the bean. Hub talks to my tum too – but not in front of Shou, as he is old enough to know and worse, repeat anything he hears. Granny K still in the dark.

I hope your bean doesn’t find too much offensive in the early months.

Good luck.

Congrats! I think if you read pregnancy related boards on the internet you can get kind of freaked out about infertility and all that … you see all these people who have taken ages and ages to get pregnant and you sort of forget that they are more the exception than the rule. I have a cousin who got pregnant about 2 months after I did and they’d been trying for 5 whole years and had 2 rounds of failed IVF before getting pregnant with their daughter. I got pregnant my second month of trying, and I was the same way, thinking it would take forever. Famous last words, eh?

I hope the horrible symptoms stay away. I never had a day of morning sickness with Dylan … you might luck out! I hope your blog does become all baby-related because I need to live vicariously through someone until we have another of our own! ๐Ÿ˜‰

Congrats! It`s a shocker when you`re not expecting it to happen but completely awesome, nonetheless. Enjoy every moment of this special time!!!

GW – Thanks! I’m glad to hear from you considering you and your bun are about a month ahead of us! I don’t even want to think of the post-birth mess yet…

Haha – Granny K is going to have quite a shock when you are back from NZ with probably quite a bit more developed bun in your belly.

Jessica – Yah, it was the pregnancy boards and even the temp charting site I used! So I pretty much thought that was the norm.. surprise surprise… I NEVER thought I would have a summer baby. So far not so bad with symptoms… but I have a trip to Tokyo coming next week and I am crossing my fingers and toes that “feeling ok” will last until it is over.

Tigermama – Thanks!! I had NO IDEA I was pregnant this month. I kept telling Ryohei I’m not… and he was like yes you are… and he was right

Damn, men…

congrats!! i had a longer comment but i deleted it somehow. anyway, healthy happy pregnancy to you! hope you’re lucky like me–no morning sickness!

Congratulations Sara! You’re going to be a great mom!

It took us almost 4 years to get a viable pregnancy so I have no idea what all of these people are talking about being this easy. ๐Ÿ˜‰

When you go to get your Boshi-techo ask about deals. There are a lot of new coupons etc. that I got this time that I didn’t get the last time I was pregnant. There’s a maternity pass too, which offers discounts at some restaurants and other businesses.

Oh, and the birth money goes up to 38 man from January! You picked a good time to get pregnant. ๐Ÿ™‚

Congratulations Sara! You’re going to be a great mom!

It took us almost 4 years to get a viable pregnancy so I have no idea what all of these people are talking about being this easy. ๐Ÿ˜‰

When you go to get your Boshi-techo ask about deals. There are a lot of new coupons etc. that I got this time that I didn’t get the last time I was pregnant. There’s a maternity pass too, which offers discounts at some restaurants and other businesses.

Oh, and the birth money goes up to 38 man from January! You picked a good time to get pregnant. ๐Ÿ™‚

Best news I’ve heard in a long time, congratulations lady! I think you will be a wonderful mom. This baby is so loved by you and Ryohei so much already and has been so wanted!!! What a lucky baby indeed. And just look at all the virtual aunties you have here? *winks*

And I too, would welcome all the pregnancy and baby related posts you can muster! ๐Ÿ˜€ I also ditto what Gaijin wife said about blogging about it early being a good idea because you can have us as, a strong support group for you here and it helps. Congratulations again!!! : )

Illahee – Thanks!!! I suppose having three little ones in such a short time you are the pregnancy guru! Crossing my finger for no m/s but if it has to come then not for the next two weeks! (haha)

Medea – Thanks! Wow, I can’t imagine what you must have gone through during that time. This one is still so so early but I’m hoping it sticks and I have a good feeling.

Ohh thanks for the info on the coupons etc and birth money is up? Woo hoo!! Ryohei will be pretty psyched about that lol.

Gina – Awwwww you’re gonna make me cry! Bad hormones!! I know this baby is so lucky! I hope it will enjoy traveling, because I plan to bring it with me as I make my rounds around Japan meeting up with blogging buddies! ๐Ÿ™‚

Congratulations to you and Ryohei!! And bring on the pregnancy stories, I love hearing all about it.

K was a “first time lucky” baby too…..

WOO HOO!!!

I totally understand wanting to talk about it early. Fingers crossed all continues well. xx

TJ – Step right up, plenty to come from here on out!

Midori – Thank you!! I am hoping as well, I suppose since I don’t have any previous experience I’m being less cautious but the support everyone has shown is amazing!

CONGRATULATIONS!!!!! OMG, this was not what I was expecting to read when I checked your new posts! I totally agree with being unable to bottle up your news…you think about it 24/7 and having a good support system really helps.

I can’t wait to read all the baby news that’s going to be posted on your blog! ๐Ÿ™‚

Looking forward to reading about your journey and hope you start posting on the AFWJ parenting group soon with your news and any questions! ๐Ÿ™‚

Kuri – Surprise! haha
I’m already on the parenting message board but haven’t asked any ??s yet… I guess because things are pretty straight forward so far… just crossing my fingers it stays this way.

Kuri – Surprise! haha
I’m already on the parenting message board but haven’t asked any ??s yet… I guess because things are pretty straight forward so far… just crossing my fingers it stays this way.

I’m so happy for you guys!! This brings back memories for me cause we conceived in October and had our daughter on July 30th!! That will be a perfect time for having a newborn, since you will be living in a colder climate (I think.)

I can’t even start with the PIL thing. I have lived with them on and off for 3 YEARS!!!!! ICK!! All of those years as a first time mom and pregnant lady!! Ha, ha! But your PIL do sound cool and similar to mine!

Congrats and I can’t wait to hear all your updates!!

Colleen in Hokkaido

I’m so happy for you guys!! This brings back memories for me cause we conceived in October and had our daughter on July 30th!! That will be a perfect time for having a newborn, since you will be living in a colder climate (I think.)

I can’t even start with the PIL thing. I have lived with them on and off for 3 YEARS!!!!! ICK!! All of those years as a first time mom and pregnant lady!! Ha, ha! But your PIL do sound cool and similar to mine!

Congrats and I can’t wait to hear all your updates!!

Colleen in Hokkaido

Comments are closed.

