Once Upon a Tanbo

I’m baaack

Posted on: December 3, 2008

I went to the clinic for the first time today and there was indeed a heart beat and a small babylike.. err blob.. on the screen.

But it was my baby… so maybe things will really start hitting me now that this is real.
I have to admit I was a little nervous about what they would find, I haven’t had any issues until now so I was praying that there would be a visable baby and of course a beating heart.

So I was put at apprx. 7 weeks with an EDD of July 21st. Which is pretty much in line of when this child was made.

Anyways the clinic I’m going to now is pretty nice. Nothing incredibly fantastic but the doctor on staff Weds. and Fri. is a woman which for some reason makes me feel more comfortable.

I was asked to come back in another 2 weeks for another “confirmation” check. Guess I’m not out of the woods yet. Oh and apparently one of my ovaries is swollen… any clue on what that means? The doctor said it was fine because pregnancy hormones can do that but we have to keep a watch on it.

Anyways without further ado my little jellybeans first pic!
Not too exciting but you can def. see my little one!!

22 Responses to "I’m baaack"

Oh my gosh, this is so exciting!!

Or as Naoki says, すげー!

He was just as excited as I was to see your little one!!

I’m so happy for you both and I’m glad that everything is looking ok.

I have no idea what ‘swollen ovaries’ mean… sorry!! But by the sounds of it, it isn’t something to stress yourself over?

I can’t wait to see you on Friday and listen to all your exciting news IRL!

Congrats on the good news! It is always a relief to see that heartbeat for the first time. They say the risk of something happening drops really drastically once you’ve seen the heartbeat, and then drops again once the second trimester hits, so you’re looking good! Not sure what a swollen ovary means either, maybe like your doc said it is just hormones? Another appointment in 2 weeks is pretty good too, at that stage my appointments were scheduled about once a month and the anticipation killed!

Oh I remember the blob stage- consider yourself lucky if you’re not having much morning sickness! Did you cry when you saw the heart beating? Really you should check out the preggo boards- its fun to read and write comments with women all due the same week as you and someone on there might know about the swollen ovaries thing. You’ll be surprised how big your jelly bean gets by your next appt in the next two weeks! Enjoy!

Oh and you can video tape your ultrasounds- totally recommend this!

Hello, Blob kun/chan! Keep on growing and wiggling away there please, but don’t make your Mummy too sick while you’re at it….

(Ha ha! Just scrolled down to type in the Captcha and it’s “Ovening” VERY appropriate!!!)

Wow. Can we start calling you “blob-chan no mama” now? ;P

And July is a cool month to be born. Keep your legs crossed one extra day and the blob will be in illustrious company. 😛 Ooohhh just thought- if you were a couple of weeks early you could have an 09/07/05 baby. How cool is that??? Ok, enough now, I’m a geek for this stuff. 🙂

Nay – Yay I’m looking forward to talking to you with it start Friday as well!! I can’t believe you’ll be here so soon!

Jessica – Yah I’d heard that about risks going down once you see a heartbeat so I was pretty relieved about that! Guess I’m just lucky so far on the non horrible symptoms.. but I’ve heard I still could be pounced on by them. I got really sick on the train coming home today and had to practice going to my happy place and taking deep breaths to keep from being sick, but once off I felt fine…?

Christelle – Haha I didn’t cry!! To be honest I don’t think I’m comfortable enough to do that when my legs are being spread apart by two woman I don’t know (lol) Naw – I was emotional, especially after. It all just happened so fast! I was in and out of the clinic within 30 minutes including taking a pee test and signing up!

I do browse a couple baby forums, I just find it hard to post a lot… I feel a bit out of touch (and jealous) since they all live in western countries. But it is comforting to read. Yah I’d like to video tape mine… I’ll have to ask about that! Like I said it really was just in and out.. so I didn’t really have a lot of time to enjoy babes!

Nay – Yay I’m looking forward to talking to you with it start Friday as well!! I can’t believe you’ll be here so soon!

Jessica – Yah I’d heard that about risks going down once you see a heartbeat so I was pretty relieved about that! Guess I’m just lucky so far on the non horrible symptoms.. but I’ve heard I still could be pounced on by them. I got really sick on the train coming home today and had to practice going to my happy place and taking deep breaths to keep from being sick, but once off I felt fine…?

Christelle – Haha I didn’t cry!! To be honest I don’t think I’m comfortable enough to do that when my legs are being spread apart by two woman I don’t know (lol) Naw – I was emotional, especially after. It all just happened so fast! I was in and out of the clinic within 30 minutes including taking a pee test and signing up!

I do browse a couple baby forums, I just find it hard to post a lot… I feel a bit out of touch (and jealous) since they all live in western countries. But it is comforting to read. Yah I’d like to video tape mine… I’ll have to ask about that! Like I said it really was just in and out.. so I didn’t really have a lot of time to enjoy babes!

Vicky – Yay!! No sickness vibes appreciated since I'm not really to be taking in all the "advice" from the ladies at work. Lol!

Fukases – Yes, I'm proud mom to a tic-tac sized blob!! Yay! Ohh who is this company? I'm betting Mr/Miss blob will be taking their sweet time, just like I did… 10 days!! I think I may end up being an August mommy… oh good lord no >_<
There are some pretty cool date things!! But they all fall at the beginning of the month the one you mentioned and also 07/08/09 (American date style) I just don't think I'm going to have a want to come out soon-er… ;P

Vicky – Yay!! No sickness vibes appreciated since I'm not really to be taking in all the "advice" from the ladies at work. Lol!

Fukases – Yes, I'm proud mom to a tic-tac sized blob!! Yay! Ohh who is this company? I'm betting Mr/Miss blob will be taking their sweet time, just like I did… 10 days!! I think I may end up being an August mommy… oh good lord no >_<
There are some pretty cool date things!! But they all fall at the beginning of the month the one you mentioned and also 07/08/09 (American date style) I just don't think I'm going to have a want to come out soon-er… ;P

Hello there little jellybean! Glad to hear you aren`t making your mama sick yet (hopefully this continues!)

How exciting! What a great picture. Glad to hear it all went well. In Japan they seem to schedule A LOT of appointments- I think it is the norm there.

How was Ryohei? He came with you hey?!? Did he cry? You already said you didn`t. I cry over everything and am very surprised I did not cry when I saw you jellybeans first pic!

God can you imagine if you give birth in August just before the fireworks? Do you think these will be postponed a year seeing as you will probably have a newborn- I am guessing fireworks and a 4 week old do not mix!? Perhaps just a visit to Niigata to see you will be best but whenever you are ready seeing as you will be with the in-laws also.

Enjoy the rest of you week & especially your weekend with Nay & Naoki!

Hello there little jellybean! Glad to hear you aren`t making your mama sick yet (hopefully this continues!)

How exciting! What a great picture. Glad to hear it all went well. In Japan they seem to schedule A LOT of appointments- I think it is the norm there.

How was Ryohei? He came with you hey?!? Did he cry? You already said you didn`t. I cry over everything and am very surprised I did not cry when I saw you jellybeans first pic!

God can you imagine if you give birth in August just before the fireworks? Do you think these will be postponed a year seeing as you will probably have a newborn- I am guessing fireworks and a 4 week old do not mix!? Perhaps just a visit to Niigata to see you will be best but whenever you are ready seeing as you will be with the in-laws also.

Enjoy the rest of you week & especially your weekend with Nay & Naoki!

Lulu – Hey! Ryohei was with me and he didn’t cry either but he was very happy looking and made sure that he was the one who was carrying the babies picture lol

Yah – not sure what is going to happen with the fireworks this year.. they are actually the 1st weekend of August so if bubs is on time she/he will be about a week or two old… if late… maybe a possibility?

Not sure – but I hope you’ll come up and visit. Ryohei’s parents house is huge (modern house newly built) so there are places to stay overnight!

Gah… so tired must get myself to bed. I miss my energy.

Lulu – Hey! Ryohei was with me and he didn’t cry either but he was very happy looking and made sure that he was the one who was carrying the babies picture lol

Yah – not sure what is going to happen with the fireworks this year.. they are actually the 1st weekend of August so if bubs is on time she/he will be about a week or two old… if late… maybe a possibility?

Not sure – but I hope you’ll come up and visit. Ryohei’s parents house is huge (modern house newly built) so there are places to stay overnight!

Gah… so tired must get myself to bed. I miss my energy.

yay! hi baby blob!

the swollen ovary is probably the one where the egg came from. until the placenta is formed and working (usually the beginning of the second trimester), the ovary produces the hormones that the baby needs to survive until that placenta is done! i think one of my doctors made a comment about one of my ovaries during my first visits during my first pregnancy. yours is probably fine. 😀

Hi little jelly bean!!! : ) Am digging your first picture! And am also sending some, “no bad case of morning sickness vibes” to you Sara!

Illahee – Ohh… glad to hear what you said about the ovaries! The doctor said it wasn’t serious but that makes sense!! Thanks, I feel a lot better!

Gina – I love the picture too! I kept looking at it last night… haha. And then Ryohei took it away to put in the new baby album we bought. Crossing my fingers for another no m/s day!

Awww! What a cutie already!
I can’t believe you didn’t cry, I always cry when I see the blob and then when I hear the heartbeat.

If you are interested, some photo places will put all your ultrasounds into a keepsake frame.

Medea – I did feel really happy to see it!! I think I was just a little overwhelmed at being splayed to the world plus they wouldn’t let Ryohei come in with me until the found the baby on the ultrasound so I was hoping they would let him see it! (They did, but I had to ask!)

They didn’t really give me time to get all emotional about it, it was just ok theres a baby get on up! (lol)

Hopefully next time there will be a bit more “bonding” time.

Love all the pics they give you in Japan. Is very surreal the first time. Shou got the nickname the ‘sea turtle’ after his first pic. My second scan – at nearly eleven weeks was a lot more ‘humanlike’ so your next one will be less bloblike and more big head with limbs-like!!

Gaijin Wife – It is very surreal!! I guess it just gets more esp. with #1. I’m looking forward to the next one!! I want to see more!!!

Ah yes, the vagicam. No wonder you were uncomfortable! Don’t worry, you’ll get a tummy one after about 10 weeks and that’s much better.

hey there jelly-bean, looking very cute! hope you and mummy are keeping well.
love your lasagna-making auntie T!

Comments are closed.

