Once Upon a Tanbo

A little late but

Posted on: January 5, 2009

…figured I’d do that New Years Survey that is going around. Hopefully I can make it a yearly thing.

I am on CLOUD 9 right now… because I just made the most delicious dinner. Homemade tsatsaki (?) that garlic yogurt cucumber sauce and fried up my own falafel in the tempura cooker. I didn’t have any pita bread so I just used some tortillas but it was sooooo delicious. I love that kind of food and its soooo hard to find in Japan outside of Tokyo. I need to make sure that I pick up more falafel mix when I am back home in March.

*drooooooool*

I wanted to take a picture but it disappeared too fast!! Gomen!!! m(_ _)m

1. What did you do in 2008 that you’d never done before?
Get married, get pregnant… I guess those are the biggies!

2. Did you keep your new years’ resolutions, and will you make more for next year?
Never really make them as I’m pretty bad at following through… always something about losing weight and then well… you know…

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?
Three real life friends and several blog/message board friends

4. Did anyone close to you die?
No

5. What countries did you visit?
Just Japan and America


6. What would you like to have in 2009 that you lacked in 2008?

A drivers license… but I don’t see that happening this year

7. What date from 2008 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?
Feb. 29 – Getting married

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?
Somehow making it through one boring workday after the other

9. What was your biggest failure?
Literary translation plans falling through

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?
None in particular

11. What was the best thing you bought?
Tickets back to America – twice

12. Whose behavior merited celebration?
R : D

13. Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed?
R : | (and me at times)

14. Where did most of your money go?
Food and airplane tickets

15. What did you get really, really, really excited about?
Ryohei getting a job (just not the location) and the baby

16. What song will always remind you of 2008?
羞恥心 (main song of the boy band from the Hexagon TV program) – sadly addicted to that one for quite a while

17. Compared to this time last year, are you:
i. happier or sadder
this is hard

last year I was super happy this time of year because Ryohei had just moved in with me but… he didn’t have a job and we weren’t sure of the future and I didn’t know if I could support two people on just my salary

this year I’m super tired, hating work, throwing up occasionally, and not looking forward to leaving the Kansai area in less than half a year – but we have a baby on the way and Ryohei has a stable job…

Sort of a toss up

ii. thinner or fatter?
getting fatter every day – woo hoo :/

iii. richer or poorer?
richer – but this will be the last year of that answer for a while

18. What do you wish you’d done more of?
walking and not being so afraid to spend money


19. What do you wish you’d done less of?

worrying about money/the future, eating

20. How will you be spending Christmas?
Already spent… at work… next year at home thank God

22. Did you fall in love in 2008?
Just continuing from 2006

23. How many one-night stands?
Do chocolate and peanut butter count?


24. What was your favorite TV program?

I have to see I really enjoyed Private Practice this year… it may have pulled ahead of Greys Anatomy for me

25. Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year?
I hate work much much much much more than last year

26. What was the best book you read?
Agreeing with Lulu – Bar Flower – I loved that one!

27. What was your greatest musical discovery?
none that was stunningly great

28. What did you want and get?
pregnant… and my hidden stash of foreign food

29. What did you want and not get?
Choice of where to live

30. What were your favorite films of this year?
Mamma Mia, Sex and the City

31. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?
Year 25 – I have no idea what I did it was just another work day. How depressing.

32. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?
Living in a place with more than one room and working air conditioning

33. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2008?
Shopping trip that took place March 2008 in America

34. What kept you sane?
meeting up with friends

35. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?
none

36. What political issue stirred you the most?
none

37. Who did you miss?
University friends in particular my best girl friend

38. Who was the best new person you met?
I met soooooo many great people in 2008… too many to name. But most of them read this blog : )

39. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2008.
Knowing when to let sleeping dogs lie

40. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year:
”random lyrics”

4 Responses to "A little late but"

haven’t read your meme yet but just had to say that you can get felafel mix at Brazillian supermarkets. ANd that’S one thing we have out in the sticks. ;P your meal sounds amazing!

Really?? Hmm… I don’t know of any Brazilian supermarkets in Kobe or Niigata..? I know there are some in Shizuoka where Nay is… so whenever I end up seeing you or her I can stock up 😉

And yes it was… and I don’t often use this term… orgasmic!

Falafel!! I LOVE falafel. Yet another food I miss when I’m here. Japanese food is nice, but all Japanese food all the time is boring if you ask me. I don’t eat all “American” food all the time in the U.S. either. I’m a girl who likes to eat from around the world!!!

Oh, and I really want to see Mamma Mia!!

Cofeegirl – Same here! I used to live in Boston where you could about 10 different countries cuisines within about a 15 minute walk. I miss that so much as I like a lot of Japanese foods but all the time is just… uggg…

I don’t usually get to make them either because Ryohei is such a non-adventerous eater and hates most foods besides Japanese, Italian, and some Chinese. Oh well – thats why whenever I go out with girlfriends I try to make it something NOT JAPANESE.

Theres awesome Turkish food here in Kobe if you are interested!

Comments are closed.

