Once Upon a Tanbo

May Day Mayday!

Posted on: May 1, 2009

Hahaha… just kidding. I don't really need any help today unless anyone
wants to come to my job and help me with the piles of work that I've
gotten in the last 2 days. (Thanks job for giving me ABSOLUTELY nothing
to do until the last minute…) Anyways I am a little less than halfway
through my second to last day at work, although it feels like my last
day to me. I have to go next Thursday as well… but I will have seen
Ryohei and be completely out of my apartment by then so it feels more
like a formality than anything – although I'm sure in the moment it will
feel like the normal 7 hour torture trap that work usually is.

We have a lot… A LOT… to do in the next 5 days. Despite my "efforts"
at cleaning, between work, exhaustion, and a tad of depression, I wasn't
able to do as much as I liked. It feels like there is still so much
stuff in my apartment but by Monday night MOST of it will be gone. I
think the fact that pretty much everything is "still in place" is what
makes it seems like nothing special is really going on and that I will
be continuing my regular Kobe life.

Sleep is getting HARD. Really hard… I'm not really having horrible
heartburn but I think more like reflux which is waking me up at night. I
think I need to sleep propped up on a few more pillows as waking up to
(TMI) burp gastic acid is not fun.

BG goes through having periods of activity and not. She's really NOT a
very active baby… of course being my first I don't really have a
comparison… but she doesn't really move that much. She does stick her
butt/back (?) out a lot though which really throws off my balance. I
felt a part of her leg through my tummy the other day at least I'm
pretty sure it was since it was a small and round object sticking out
near the top of my bump. That was a cool "aww" moment. Sadly, thats been
the only time so far.. but I still have AT LEAST 10 more weeks to go so
I'm sure there will be more "Close Encounters of the BG Kind" before then.

This week has gone by pretty fast… I hope that next week – and the
move – are over soon… I'm a big fan of "ripping of the Band-Aid
quickly" and just want to get this ALL DONE.

5 Responses to "May Day Mayday!"

Good luck for the move. It will be good to have it all sorted and be at Ryohei’s parent’s relaxing and waiting for the BG’s arrival.

Moving always seems hopeless until it just magically happens at the last second.

Having moved at 8 months pregnant all I can say is don’t overdo it- eat for two but work as half. πŸ™‚

Enjoy your reunion. πŸ™‚

Oh, I’m a big time band-aid ripper too! Any kind of waiting/build-up/anticipation is absolute torture! And pregnancy was the WORST! Whose bright idea was it that it should take 40 weeks to cook up a baby? A man’s I’m sure!

Glad things are finally moving, and you’re seeing a tiny light at the end of the tunnel!

Hey Sara πŸ™‚

Thanks so much for dropping me a line on my blog! It makes me feel important and interesting. Hehe.

Yeah, Takeshi’s been reading all these accounts from other Japanese/foreigner couples who went through this process too, and it seems that all of them got it done really fast! About only 3-4 months in total. I hope our process is just as speedy. I’d hate to wait around forever for a greencard.

It IS a small blogger-world huh? πŸ™‚ Congrats on expecting your (first?) baby! It must be so exciting. I’m sure TK and I will be at that point someday too. What does your husband Ryohei do for a living? And what’s your story, with being in Japan and all? Are you from the States? πŸ™‚ I think I’m the only foreigner that has come to Japan, without the help of being a part of some English-teaching organization!

Laura – Thanks for coming! Not sure if you will be back to read this comment but yes Ryohei and I are expecting our 1st baby – we’ve been married a little over a year now.

I came to Japan from America through JET 3 years ago and am just finishing up! Ryohei works as a civil servant for a small city hall in rural North-ish Japan.

Hope you get your greencard figured out soon!!! I’m sure it must be a stressful process – ain’t all gov’t related things πŸ˜€

Comments are closed.

