Once Upon a Tanbo

Welcome!

Posted on: June 9, 2009

I’ve heard a lot of great things about wordpress from friends who have made the switch so I guess I have as well! I’m pretty sure you are joining from my old blog so I don’t think that re-introductions are really necessary! Anyways I’m looking forward to trying a new type of blog although its a bit harder to use than blogger (for me personally).

Today was sort of a boring Monday and I didn’t really get anything done. Tomorrow, Ryohei and I are going for “pre-mama lecture” at my clinic and to finalize the apartment! Ryohei was really excited about taking off his first “yuukyuu” or payed holiday EVER.In his LIFE. Oh well, the nice thing about his job is he can actually take them.. I think his old job in Tokyo would have laughed in his face if he had ever made that suggestion. So yay for small victories.

Also – looking forward to Nay and Laura coming to visit this weekend!! This will be the last time I get to see them without a baby attached to boob.. which is weird. If you can believe it I’ll be 34 weeks tomorrow… wow. Time is flying.

Anyways I’ve spent half the night making my new blog with BG kicking or squirming up a storm near my ribs. She probably won’t calm down for another hour or two – I had a wonderful time waiting for her to fall asleep at 3am yesterday… its already started nooooooooo. Oh well I haven’t slept through the night for oh.. about 30 weeks so I’m notΒ  happy about it but already getting used to it. You can push BG around in my tummy now – i do it for amusement, poke one part and another will come sticking up in a different part of my tummy. Elbows, knees, feet… you name it I’ve been able to pinch and grab at it.. I figure I need to get a little of my own back – you know – a little bit of payback for peebreaks every 30 mins and nights full of baby disco.

Ok – night night

23 Responses to "Welcome!"

Rice Princess! Bwahaha! Love it!

Congrats on your hubby taking paid leave. Quite the accomplishment for you both.

Now that I think about it, my husband never has either. He doesn’t get paid leave at all. I have taken all mine though!

I agree with Jenn- congrats on your hubby taking paid leave! Very un-Japanese!!

PS- Daisuke used to take his paid leave, telling his office he was going to spend time with Joey and I and then he would sneak off to go and play pachinko..

Love the new blog. WordPress is great, even though it takes some getting used to.

Have a great class tomorrow! I wish we had done some sort of class before I had DS, we did absolutely nothing to prepare. It might be kind of fun! Glad Ryohei was able to take a day off, nice job perk eh? 34 weeks — wow, you’re coming along, only another 4-8 weeks left, no matter which way you slice it. It is getting exciting!

Cute new blog! Hope the clinic lecture goes well- I’d love to hear more about how they prepare you for giving birth in Japan!

And that’s awesome about Ryohei taking paid leave. Wow, but for the first time ever? Makes me realize what a crappy employee I must have seemed when I was on JET… I totally took all my leave. And actually, my supervisor even gave me extra leave on the sly when my parents came to visit (without me asking for it). LOL, oops. Sorry, Japan. πŸ˜€

Welcome to wordpress! I find I like it much more than Blogger. Hopefully you’ll be happy here πŸ™‚

Glad to hear your hubby took paid leave. I’m hoping with my not moving to Japan until after my fiance’s year or so of work that he’ll be able to take paid leave guilt-free (or with as little guilt as Japanese society will allow) in order to help me move and file our marriage papers. Heh, though I won’t hold my breath!

–Jenn (MIJ lurker)

Hello! I’ve commented a bit before on your other blog, but maybe I’m a bit shy so I don’t do it so often. Apologies about that. In any case, N just graduated from uni and so isn’t working yet (although there are 2323290 applications out) but I really hope he doesn’t turn into a workaholic. He’s the most American-like Japanese I’ve met so I think he appreciates the time off. Congrats on Ryohei taking the vacation time! Hopefully he’ll see how hard the late stages of pregnancy are and will come to help out a bit more. Hope you enjoy your vacation before the bub. πŸ™‚

Love the name rice princess!

It’s a good sign your dh takes his leave. My hubs has always taken his paid leave. He says it’s more about social pressure (i.e. office mates (or boss) doesn’t want to go home so neither can he) than anything else and he has always been lucky in his office in that everyone wants to get out.

congrats on the new blog! love the look. πŸ˜€

How exciting Ryohei taking paid holiday. I`m so jealous. Takashi never takes his (actually we are not certain if he really even has something called paid holiday). At his work, he gets 8 days a month off (thats basically the weekend) so if there are any national holidays, he has to make up for those days by work on Saturdays or Sundays. Vacations are non-existent in our household.

I think we will be lucky if he will get 3 days with the baby when its born before having to go back to work.

Hello! I’m a longtime lurker who just got back to Canada from Beijing (good timing since wordpress was recently re-blocked in China). I’m rather shy and often feel I don’t have anything worthwhile to say, but I do check your blog every few days (especially whenever I felt homesick in Beijing), and I really appreciate and admire the bravery, creativity and strength required of bloggers who put themselves and their feelings out there.

Good luck with the new blog! I can’t promise to comment often, but I’ll definitely be reading. I think you’re doing a really wonderful job coping with a sometimes challenging time of life. I am looking forward to meeting BG!

Marie

Hi! I’m yet another long time lurker! I’ve been meaning to start my own blog for sometime now but still have managed to make any headway with it. Perhaps you moving your blog over too WordPress will inspire me to get mine started.

I enjoy reading your blog as I’m also married to a Japanese man and gave birth to my son 4mths ago in Tokyo. I hope I can continue to read about your adventures and hopefully offer you some advice as your enter motherhood.

Michelle

Sorry to hear that you were getting some criticism on your old blog. Some people can be really un-feeling. Your new blog looks great at I love the name! I might consider making the move to wordpress myself….Hope the pre-mama lecture goes well!!!! Take care. Really really miss you…Waaaaaaaaahhhhhhhhh!
Cass

Hello!

Lurker here for quite sometime… Just wanted to say hello and wish you all the best with BG. You have been so very strong through everything πŸ™‚

Trixy

You’ll find wordpress will get easier, you don’t have as many side bar options as blogger but you can upgrade to paid wordpress.com account which will give you more flexibility.

Sarah you can just send me the PW to my old e-mail address, thanks!

Hi Sara! Love the new blog name. Hope your clinic seminar goes well. Miss you here. Hugs!

34 weeks wow, Time is flying! Very sleek new blog by the way, love it.
Isn’ it weird when we congratulate our guys for taking paid leave?? hehe it’s not like they’re jigging school or anything but I know it would be a big step for Ryohei so well done!

Hey Sarah! Cool new blog! Of course I want to keep reading, so please allow me to, password also, if you want!

❀

Hi Sarah, I love your new blog!! I’m glad that you have moved across to WordPress! Although it takes a bit to get used to, I really do prefer it blogger!

I’m glad that Ryohei did get to take time off for your class tomorrow!

I can’t wait to see you this weekend πŸ™‚ I am really looking forward to it!

Some people can be really unfeeling Cassie? I hope that’s not a dig at me. πŸ˜‰

In fact I was anything but. If I didn’t care about someone, I wouldn’t point out to them that what they were doing is a little bit off, I would let them go ahead and make mistakes and watch it all fall apart.

I never commented with ill-intent.

I am a lurker too, ooh coming out of the closet feels so good!

I hope you enjoy your paid holiday with your husband. πŸ™‚

Hi Sarah, love the new look and the name rice princess! Cute!

I love wordpress and am glad I made the switch just over a year ago (wow, seems like just yesterday)- i never used blogger though and was with typepad before but really enjoy wordpress. If you have any issues or questions just ask.

I find having the option to password protect if I want to as well is a good thing.

Hope you enjoyed the day with Ryohei (and his paid leave! WOO! Shun takes his leave too- usually it was to go to Australia though) and that the mama and papa birthing class went well. Look foward to hearing about it!

Wow you have a lot of lurkers!!!!

Hi Sara

I found your blog through illahee’s a few days ago and really admire your strength in going to your PIL in the first place never mind the fact that you’re just about to have your first baby with all the stress that alone entails.

Hopefully now that you have a date for moving into your own place, you’ll be able to relax and enjoy the last few weeks of your pregnancy. Good for hubby to take a day off – not that many Japanese men would, especially in a new job.

I know you don’t know me but I’d love to keep reading about how things progress for you.

Comments are closed.

