Once Upon a Tanbo

Like Molasses

Posted on: June 30, 2009

Funny how quick the week passes by when you don’t really have in particular to look forward to… and how completely and utterly slow it is when you have something you want to get done. How unfair…

This weekend is start of the “big move” as well as life away from PIL, away from rice paddies (ok I lie, there are a few about 3km from our aparment – but better than right out the fricken window), end of not eating anything except cereal for breakfast and a slice of bread, cheese, and ham for lunch since my MIL doesn’t know what else to leave for me, the end of not being able to go anywhere except the “local” 20 minute away conbini, and the end of being completely and utterly friendless (or so I hope)

PLUS – in my own way I am looking forward to getting the apartment set up and especially looking forward to cooking. I finally purchased my new oven!! It is a Hitachi Healthy Chef 33L one so I should even be able to get a roasting chicken or baby turkey in there should I feel inclined to try and do some sort of Thanksgiving cooking this year. I can’t wait to actually be able to bake again and am on the look out for tried and true yummy Japan friendly (ie don’t have to go on a mad goose chase to find the ingrediants) recipes if anyone wants to volunteer!

We pretty much have all the “big” items for the apartment now – and now need to fill up the cupboards with 100 yen plates, cups, and silverware as well as get a few food prep items from the home center. After that it will just be unpacking and then waiting for BG to choose her birthday. I guess I should give myself a pat on the back for making it to Full Term Day. I am exactly 37 weeks which means that within 4 or so the baby should be here… my clinic induces at between 5-9 days overdue so the lastest she will be here is a month from today although with the doctor being as alarmed about her size as he is it will probably be sooner than that. (which is ok – as much as I’d like to go in to labor naturally – I am MORE than happy to not be pregnant by the end of the month)

So.. this is the beginning of the beginning? Absolutely no signs of anything happening soon which is good since we still have a lot to do – but I can bet as soon as I hit about a week after moving I will be a walking, spicy food eating, other old wives tales trying mess.

But.. despite all this fun stuff thre are still 3 (and a bit) more boring weekdays… aggravated by the fact that Ryohei will be super late tonight (past 10pm), semi-late tmw night, and ANOTHER drinking party on Friday… (sigh) which means he won’t be home until Saturday morning. I guess he is starting to get really busy, he’s had more zangyo in the past few days than he has the whole first 3 months of his job and he has to work the whole weekend July 25th and 26th so lets hope the baby is here and I am in the clinic and thus not feeling lonely on a weekend at home waiting for something to happen.

I really wish babies came with an egg timer as at this point there is a lot I would like to plan for but not knowing when I will be taking my “week long vacation” throws a wrench into most of it and then I’m sure that the first couple weeks with a newborn are going to be a huge adjustment and I’ll be lucky if I can feed us and take a shower.

So yah… thats it really. I wish Ryohei wasn’t going to be late tonight – the only times I feel like I can relax here is when he is around and I really hate when it is just the 3 of us (me, MIL, and FIL) having dinner… Ryohei is like my barrier and I can deflect annoying questions to him. But in true hero style – I get to deal with 2 me and the PIL dinners this week… ugggggggggggggg.

Anyways trying to stay upbeat and positive but still very tired from lack of sleep and lack of (interesting) food. Also not a huge fan of the sudden heatwave which has made my walking very very tiring and uncomfortable. Summer is not the smartest time to have a baby esp. not in this oven box of a country

2 Responses to "Like Molasses"

Oh my I feel the same way about questions during dinner- if it is just me with the PILs then I try to control the conversation. Ie, asking them questions non-stop. You have met my FIL and he likes to chat so this works well.

Sometimes I tell his mum to ask Shun when he gets home- if I dont want to answer the question, dont understand it, or am not sure if the answer. Usually it is the first reason though!

I am feeling you with the heat! I am over Japanese summer already and it hasn`t even begun!

Sucks about Ryohei coming home late most nights this week- that said the overtime money will be good! I try to tell myself that when Shun has overtime. At least his company is very good about paying for it, unlike some.

Can`t believe by this time next week you will be all moved! WOW!

I think most people would hate eating dinner alone with their PIL… I couldn’t imagine anything worse!! Only a couple more nights and then you will never have to eat with your them again if you don’t want to!!

I’m sorry that Ryohei is working late this week. It must suck being at his parents house without him. Naoki is back to working overtime again so I can understand…

I’m very excited to see your new apartment all decked out with the furniture you have bought. I can’t wait to see the finished product – and sit on that sofa you have been telling me about!!

All of our plates and stuff come from the 100 yen shop and I think they are great! I’m sure you will find exactly what you are looking for! By the way, I found a glass loaf tin for banana bread at mega mart. So I am sure you will be able to find one at a home centre near you 🙂

Only a few more days until you are offically moving! I bet you can’t wait!

Comments are closed.

