Once Upon a Tanbo

No Deal~

Posted on: July 17, 2009

sigh sigh sigh – head bang agaisnt wall

Well since I last wrote nothing at all…

I got myself out of bed took a walk to the grocers and am currently cooking dinner with no futher pains or even pelvic pressure… tonight I am making roasted stuffed piman (mini green peppers)

Figured I would share the recipe – it was surprisingly quick to make but haven’t tasted it yet so I can’t assure you of that part.

Easy Roast Piman (aka forgetting about being almost 40 weeks pregnant with a stubborn baby by cooking)

This recipe feeds about 4 regular people or one ‘3rd trimester diet ignoring preggo’ and one equally hungry japanese man

12 piman
220 grams pork/beef mince
1 egg
1/2 cup cooked rice (leftovers work great)
1/2 onion
1/2 tbsp Worchester sauce
salt and pepper
1 can spaghetti sauce
apprx. 1/2 cup shredded cheese

Preheat oven to 170 C

1. Cut tops off piman and de-seed. Soak prepared piman in water until needed.

2. Either food process or hand mix the mince, egg, onion, worchester sauce, salt and pepper
(note – if you don’t have a food processor it might be easier to use bread crumbs as opposed to rice)

3. Stuff the mixture from (2) into the piman and place them into slightly oiled baking dish
(note: 12 piman fit perfectly into my 20cmx20cm (aka 8×8) baking dish)

4. Pour spaghetti sauce over the top of the piman making sure they are mostly covered

5. Top with cheese

6. Bake for 45 min

So there you have it – not that this is a recipe that most people don’t already know but it really was super easy esp. with the food processor – I think the longest part was preparing the piman 🙂

DVC00024

15 Responses to "No Deal~"

Mmmm.. glad to hear the oven AND processor aren’t going to waste 😉 Sounds yummy, but let us know for sure~~ I even have leftover peppers, so I’ll have to try these!!

Of course!!! I think I’ve used my oven at least 4 out of 5 dinners this week… “moto wo toritai” or however the “getting your moneys worth” saying goes 🙂

If you don’t have an oven you can stew them as well 🙂 I’m sure the taste/texture would be a bit different but prob. still yummy!

Yum! I stuff everything this time of year- stuffed peppers, stuffed zucchini, stuffed eggplant right through until it’s time to stuff pumpkin. 🙂 The peppers freeze well and are fab in bento so if you don’t eat them all you can make a quickie bento and have Ryohei think you’re super wife. 🙂

Ohh… how do you stuff eggplant and zucchini?? Is it a pain to “empty them out”? Speaking of… you grow your own zucchini right?? When are they in season? I have been craving zucchini bread so if you ever need to get rid of some let me know!! My local market doesn’t sell them!?!? ;_;

We stuff peppers and eggplants as well. I stuff them the lazy way – I cut the veggie in half and then cut/scoop out some of the insides and then add the scooped out eggplant to the mix of goodies that goes back in the veggie “cup”. Delicious!

All that cramping etc. sounds like excellent progress in the right direction!! Soon BG!

Yummy!! Can’t wait to have an oven again to try them.

Give ’em a try!!! Can you find piman back in the US/Canada?

Good question, I am not sure. Probably somewhere. If not may have to think of something to substitute.

What a great and easy way to use those pumas. They can be cheap as too.
I will certainly give that a go!!
Thank you:-D

No prob!!!!
Feel free to modify it however you like – I think next time I will probably up the worchester sauce and the seasonings in the meat since it was a bit bland for me this time!!

I did a variation of your piman recipe and stewed them in tomato and used raw rice. I added a touch of cinnamon Amd onion and brocolli to the sauce too. It wasyumbo jumbo but I had know idea that piman can be bitter, as some of them were.

I am desperate to read current post. How can I qualify?

Oh they sound yummy! Good to know about the seasonings and worchester sauce too! I will have to make these when we move.

Not to make you jealous or anything (okay maybe a little bit 😛 ) but Shun`s mum made her awesome chicken and cheese haramaki tonight as it is out last night here! I ate 4! HAHA!

Shame the crampy pains turned out to be nothing (for now!) hope labour kicks in sometime over the weekend!

My local supermarket has all the ingrediants for them so I will get around to the eventually!! Prob. won’t be as great as your MIL but that taste was fantastic.. yum yummmmmmm

Hmmm looks yummy! I’m totally trying it, it’s a good way to disguise vegies as well cos ryota won’t eat them otherwise (sounds like he’s the baby not ash!)
I’ve been looking at buying a food processor, I saw a cheapie at nitori but thought it might not be worth it. What kind did you get??
Good luck at the check-up, hoping to hear good news, and no over-reaction hospital stays!

Ryohei liked them!! Hopefully Ryota would too.. they don’t have much of a veggie taste for sure. Just make sure you use got spaghetti sauce (aka not Japanese stuff…) They 160 yen can I got was not very good and sort of ruined the whole dish for me… I should have splurged and got the non-Japanese brand one instead…

oh well… next time!!!

BTW – I got my food processor (Izumi brand) online for about 3500 yen. Seems to pretty good so far!! I think a decent one is going to cost upwards of 3000 yen or so…

Comments are closed.

