Once Upon a Tanbo

Rain on my parade

Posted on: July 21, 2009

Another boring day at home with no action is pretty much what my day turned out to be… to add to the fun it started pouring rain about 20 minutes after I started doing the laundry and all I can say is our washer/dryer combo doesnt seem to work well… I tried drying the clothes on the hour long cycle and they were just warm and damp when it was done. There are 2 and 4 hour drying cycles as well.. maybe I will give them a try but thinking of the electricty bill gives me a bit of a heart attack.

So pretty much I spent the whole day lazing around the house… I did make a fantastic side dish with supper that I will share here – it was probably my biggest accomplishment of the day. I finally found zucchini at the local market so tomorrow I will try my hand at making Chocolate Zucchini Bread and Muffins to pass the time. Baking/cooking seem to be my only pleasure lately and with all the rain my daily walks have to be shortened or cancelled altogether… sure wish the weather would cooperate so that gravity could do its thing and BG would get out here.

Feeling a bit down about the whole going overdue thing but not too bad – I think I’m just more lonely and bored than anything. If there is no action by Saturday when I have my next appointment I’m going to ask the Dr. to be induced Monday morning since my clinic does inductions at due date +5 days onwards and I want to be out of the clinic by the time my mom arrives on the 4th of August. Hope it doesn’t come to that though I am having high hopes for Friday/Saturday… I guess I should be pleased I feel so pain free so late into my pregnancy… although its high disconcerting at the same time.

Anyways here is my recipe for the evening:

Moroccan Beans with Bacon and Potatos

RIMG0186

(note: Moroccan beans are like huge green beans but flat – I think green beans could easily be substituted for this recipe)

About 2 cups worth of beans with ends cut off and cut in 3-4 cm length pieces
About 1/4 cup finely chopped onion
5 slices of bacon cut about 2.5-3 cm
2 med or 3 small potato cut into bite sized chunks
Salt and Pepper

1. Bring beans and potatos to boil in pot with about 3 cups water and 1/2 tsp salt, after boiling simmer for about 8-10 minutes until beans and potato are soft

2. After the veggies have cooked drain them and put them aside

3. Heat a fry pan and fry bacon and onions until bacon is crisp and onions are transparent

4. If there is a lot of bacon grease remove all but about 1 Tbsp worth

5. Add veggies and sautee with bacon and onions over medium heat

6. Add salt and pepper to taste

7. Serve warm

Serves 3-4 as a side depending on appetite!

Very simple and delicious – and a good use for summer veggies that your parents in law tend to give you after a visit… We have a huge sack of potatos which means potato dishes for dinner every night this week (lol)

5 Responses to "Rain on my parade"

hmmm…we are going to be having to buy a new washer sooner than later (ours has decided it doesn`t really care to actually spin during the spin cycle) and this is one of the concerns I have about a combined washer/dryer. I suppose I have managed to live these last past 5 years hanging laundry up (looking like we live in the ghetto during the winter/raining season with it hanging up inside). oh well. One day.

We got ours used so I don’t feel TOOOOO bad if we “trade up” for a newer and nicer model in a year or two. I had wanted a dryer function as we are cloth diapering and thought it might be easier to use the dryer in that case sometimes. We have to get a “drying rack” indoors for the winter but waiting until we actually will use it to purchase šŸ™‚

I def. miss ‘proper’ dryers and dishwashers… ahh…

That recipe sounds really delicous!! I will have to try it out sometime. Thanks for sharing šŸ™‚ I am enjoying the recipes you have been posting!

no prob!! yours sounds great as well!! i only used half my wedding bacon and i will be trying your second dish out thursday night šŸ˜‰

any suggestions on subsitutions for the passionfruit pulp in the recipe you made for those of us who don’t have nice care package sending moms and have to rely on silly japanese ingrediants šŸ˜›

hey sarah! hope you’re doing well today. i hate all this rain, because i have actually decided to Go Out And Move Around in Order to Lose Weight and here it is bucketing!! so annoying. this morning the weather can’t make up its mind (which is sad because i was hoping to experience more of the eclipse than just getting dark.) but i hope it doesn’t rain too much.

Comments are closed.

