Once Upon a Tanbo

Schedule?

Posted on: August 17, 2009

Thanks again for all the great replies to my last post – a bunch of you brought up putting the baby on a schedule so I am trying that from today… so far so good. I think part of my issue has been keeping her up too long between naps. I looked up info on the “EASY” schedule that Sarah and several other mentioned and had her up at 8:30 and back in bed for a nap by 10am and now at 11:30 shes still sleeping….

Had a bit of angry crying when I tried to put her down and had to use the pacifier a bit but she spit it out before she fell asleep anyways. I used to last hour and a half to get two loads of laundry done – yay!!

Will see if this continues to work for me and Sakura. Since its just the two of us now (my mom left yesterday morning) hopefully this will be a good time to implement some sort of routine.

We have devil baby visit us every night and I am sooooo done with that. Sakura is def. a bit of a grump she cries a lot and never really seems to be happy. I’m looking forward to when she starts smiling as it would be nice to have a bit of cheer from her since pretty much 85% of the time shes awake its crying. The other 10% is boob and the last 5% is her “good mood”

Sigh – parenting is hard. Hopefully I can catch a nap during my next “Y” part of the EASY schedule. I’d love to get my hands on the book – wonder if its on amazon…

EDIT – Well obviously nap 1 was a hit and consequently now on a miss.. Sakura is obviously tired shes clawing at her eyes and yawning and now screaming for the last… 40 minutes or so as all my tries at getting her down for a second nap are failing. Feels like a repeat of the night and I am so frustrated… this overtiredness seems to really get her and can go on and on and on for hours (see every night the last week pretty much)

16 Responses to "Schedule?"

Sakura will be smiling and cooing before you know it. It is amazing how quickly the time flies. Good luck with the schedule and hopefully you get a good nap in too!

Ganbatte! I started reading about that too.. looks interesting, I’ll have to try it with Ponyo too eventually.

she’ll get her groove soon! sorry that i don’t have advice on scheduling. i just kinda let the babies do their own thing. lucky for me it worked out i guess. but hopefully, soon, she’ll be all smiles and comfortable in a schedule!

and more pictures please. πŸ˜‰

Ooohhh schedules!! I was a huge schedule believer and got all in a tizz every time the baby would go through a growth stage and stop following my schedule. Even if the baby never stuck to the *same* schedule for long it certainly helped having them stick to *a* schedule.

Good luck!

The smiling stage is worth it in the end. I tried for a schedule but discovered that babies are very willful little things, so if it doesn’t go as planned don’t worry too much, just try and go with the grumpy flow and she will get better and better.
Ash can be screaming his head off one second and then giggling the next so you never can tell!
Good luck with it, only a few more weeks till the golden 6 week mark!

I’m glad you like the EASY idea but at this age it’s more of a goal than a rule. If you have a good nap and then a bad nap it’s OK to rock her to sleep or just do whatever it takes. The main idea is to keep her up for a bit after each feeding and then go to sleep. Even a half an hour of awake time is enough. Also, it’ll take at least three days for any new routine to stick. There are always bad days so just try to start new each morning.

All four of my babies had an evening fussy/tantrum time, usually an hour around 7 or 9pm. After awhile I just gave up trying to calm them down and just let them fuss, cry and scream away. It’s good exercise for them and I can’t fix it so I just went with it.

The Baby Whisperer book is available on Amazon Japan (check the used book section cuz you can get it for cheap there). The author’s name is Tracy Hogg. It’s very laid back and it has good ideas on how to get babies to go to sleep on their own for once Sakura is a little older. I liked BabyWise but a lot of moms find it to be too strict although it was exactly what Emi and I needed when she was an infant. I found BabyWise explained more about how babies bodies and minds work.

Reading about your experience with Sakura is totally bringing back memories of when Emi was little. I had no idea what she wanted or what she was going to do (sleep or not sleep) and nursing was awful. But I was embarassed to ask for help. Once I did ask for help/advice everything went a lot better and we were a happier family.

I’m reading the baby whisperer now, it seems really good, but too late for Ash, next baby! πŸ˜‰

Another good book about routines is The Contented Baby by Gina Ford. Though, I’m sure it doesn’t matter which one you follow, just as long as you find something that suits you and Sakura! http://www.contentedbaby.com/

Will have to come back and read all your posts and comments when I have a newborn and am ready to tear my hair out!

I am sure I will have you in the background, a pro by then, telling me “It will get better”

Hope tonight that devil Sakura turns into angel Sakura for her mummy & papa.

I have read Baby wise. Its basically the same thing usually on a 3 hour schedule of some kind, eat, awake, sleep. They say some babies are better on a 2 1/2 schedule and some better towards a 4 but its basically the same thing as the EASY it seems.

Need to make sure I pack my book with me to go back over it.

I never managed to get Joey on a schedule. In fact the first time he ever had a schedule was when we moved back to the UK and he had it forced on him by me starting to work full-time and the need for both of us to be at certain places by a certain time! You obviously feel like a schedule will help things so I hope you manage to get one in place! Don’t worry if you don’t though, you guys will find your own groove eventually! It is tough Sarah but I guess parenting really is the most difficult (but also most amazing) thing any of us will ever do. I still look at Joey sometimes now and wonder how he has survived my parenting “skills” for as long as he has but at the end of the day, we all do the best we can and as long as we give our kids love and cuddles, that will always be enough! πŸ™‚

Oh, learning to schedule your baby is HARD! I used BW also for DD until she was 4 months old. Worked like a dream…and then it never worked again. πŸ™‚

I see from your posts that you say she cries a lot during the day. What are you doing now that your mom isn’t here and Ryohei is back at work? Do you take her out? Pat/shush her? Walk the apartment with her? I remember pretty much trying everything to get DD to either sleep or stop crying. The washing machine or dryer worked well, as did either putting her in a sling and wearing her for most of the day. Vacuuming worked wonders as well. Something about the static noise.

I second the other commenters in that it takes a few days (or weeks, depending on how old the child is) for a schedule to take effect. Don’t despair that her 2nd nap didn’t go very well. Her first nap did! That’s amazing that you were able to get her down to sleep and then had time to yourself, although you spent it doing laundry. πŸ™‚

I hope Sakura gets into her own groove soon!

God she is cute.

She seems to cry a lot. Are you winding her properly? That’s all you do with new babies. Feed on 1 boosie. Wind. 2nd boosie. Wind. Winding is a pain in the arse and gladly appreciated mum offering.

Try circling her tum tum a couple of times or sort of lightly drop her on the bed to move the air bubble then sit her on your lap and tap her back. I think that is a baby whisperer method.

It might be a good thing crashing at the inlaws. They’ll feed you and wind her and you can shower and you can enjoy her together. Just a thought.

Hope seeing your mum go wasn’t so bad. Shell be waiting for you to come over.

Once I get back to Japan I have the books The No Cry Sleep Solution that I would be happy to pass on to you. bailey gave me a run for my money in the sleep department as well so i know what you are going through. Also, we are going to be leaving the US on Friday so if you want/need anything please e-mail me. Good luck!

We ended up on the EASY routine just naturally- I had never even heard of it till later- and I think it’s a good one! I’m not much of a baby scheduler, but the EASY routine seems natural and doesn’t seem to involve restricting baby’s feedings as some schedules do. Baby wakes up from a nap looking for milk, you provide it- then you have a happy baby for playtime, yay! Before you know it, it’s naptime again.

If you’re looking to order baby books, I highly recommend The Happiest Baby on the Block. The No-Cry Sleep Solution is great too!

Oh dear! I hope you aren’t too stressed about schedules now. I’d echo Sarah’s comment that as a goal it’s nice but truly – some babies need more or less sleep than others and until you and Sakura figure out how much that is you’ll likely just keep tweaking it here and there. Maybe she’s an every 2 hour baby but maybe not. Or maybe she needs a nap 2 hours after waking, is awake for 6 hours and then you get a 2nd nap late in the day. Some kind of schedule seemed to help us, but as I said, we sort of fell into it. If I’d had to work for an hour every naptime to get her to sleep I might have tried a different tactic! By the time she was 6 weeks old, it generally took me 15 minutes or so to get her to sleep and that seemed to work for us (prior to that my mom was helping me out and I didn’t pay the least bit of attention to how things were working since the sleep thing seemed to be going tolerably well- I was so fortunate!). That being said, she wouldn’t nap anywhere but *on* me for the first 4 or 5 months. Boy was I grateful for that baby sling!!

Comments are closed.

