Once Upon a Tanbo

Tokyo and beyond

Posted on: September 16, 2009

Well we got back Monday evening from what was a wonderful 4 day adventure in the Tokyo/Chiba area. We got Sakura’s American passport/birth abroad certificate completed without a hitch and I got to hang out with so many cool people.

A big thanks to Lulu for having us stay AND hosting a lunch party for 10 people or so despite being in her 3rd trimester of pregnancy. Also thanks to Nay for helping me with Sakura one night when it was just the two of us… and of course Sakura woke up in the middle of the night and Nay stepped up beyond the call of duty and actually helped me at 2am.

We met up with Khea and adorable cutie Missha. She and Sakura were fast friends and even posed for some adorable times 2 sleeping pictures which I’m sure the majority of you have seen posted on other peoples blogs and facebooks.

I also met Cassie from Fuchu and Melanie and their families for the first time. Not yet Daddy Taka (Melanies husband) actually rocked Sakura to sleep and held her for nearly an hour and everyone was very happy to take the baby off my hands which gave me the most free time to sit and eat and talk since shes has been born!!!

So thank you to all of you that I met… I wish I lived closer… maybe in 4 years or so if Ryohei gets his temporary transfer.

Sakura was not bad for most of the trip. Not surprisingly she still doesnt take too well to all the change. The first night at Lauras she was screaming at night for the good part of 5 hours.. hopefully she didn’t scar Laura and Nay too badly… The next nights weren’t as bad even tho stupid Ryohei wasnt around either of them to help me.. grr grumble grumble.

Sakura was SO happy to be back in our apartment – she cried all the way on the shinkansen and car home but literally as soon as we walked in the door she started smiling and being happy… weird kid. I was surprised she recognized “home.” Ryohei had the day off yesterday as well and it was the best day with Sakura ever. There was hardly any crying and she even fell asleep byherself after I set her down after a feed at night… wow… she smiled a ton and looked like she was going to even laugh. She’s been able to smile the past few weeks but in the last 2-3 days she has been doing in constantly it is soooo cute. She smiles a lot like I do.. as in our smiles sort of look similar. She even crinkles up her nose like I used to do as a baby/child…

I’d have to say things are slowly getting easier.. maybe because the crying has gone down a bit. I’ve been using gas drops the last week or so and that seems to maybe be making the difference since after using them I’ve seen a dramatic increase of happiness in her behavior.

This upcoming week is Silver Week and Ryohei has work from 5pm – 11pm Saturday and noon – 11pm Sunday… so more night duty alone for me. Not tooooo thrilled about that. We are also going to visit Heather of the Fukases fame on Monday and Tuesday!!! So looking forward to that.. its a 2.5 hour drive on the express way so we will see how that goes with the baby. Sometimes she likes the car and sometimes she HATES it…

Next month should be a challenging one… apparently Ryohei is super busy the first half of the month. Its pretty frustrating because I feel like a single parent most of the time and the reason he took this job is that he could spend more time with our “family.” I just wish he was around more since I don’t have many friends here.. although I did got to an “international” family club today. Although it was mainly Japanese moms who could speak a little English and a Korean mom. There was an American English teacher there who I talked to a bit and maybe became friends with? Shes going home next year (Surprise surprise… every single foreign friend i’ve made here is not planning to be here long term… sigh) but even those shes not married/doesnt have kids she wanted to hang out with Sakura and me so Yay! She said she knows some other foreign people here so hopefully she will introduce me… I’ll probably be the only one with a kid but I desperately want to have at least a couple native English speaking friends close by..

Anyways – its been a busy week and Silver Week will probably be busy as well….

7 Responses to "Tokyo and beyond"

I made all these plans for this weekend, not realizing how crazy the traffic will be on the highway… opps…

You’ll have a blast with Heather!!!!

Doesn’t it suck not having native English speakers around you? It has taking me about three years when we first moved to Nagoya to meet, greet… and that was without clubs, etc….don’t worry, you’ll meet more soon enough.

It was great meeting you on Sunday! I`m glad Taka got over his scaredy catness with Sakura and managed to get her to sleep.

Hopefully you`ll be able to make another trip into Tokyo sooner rather than later and there can be a rather large playdate with Sakura and all the other babies. Maybe next time Ryohei will be around and we will be able to meet him.

Thats great about meeting other foreigners, even if they don`t have kids/ are not married. Its definitely a chance to get out of the house and meet some new people. Perhaps on occassion you can talk Ryohei into taking care of Sakura and letting you have a sort of girls night minus the baby.

Glad you had such a great time! It does sound like things are getting a bit easier with Sakura. Boo to Ryohei being so busy with work, but hopefully that will not be forever and ever, but just now since he is relatively new still.

I don’t really have any “mom” friends nearby either, but that’s ok! Sometimes it is fun hanging out with people who aren’t married with kids yet, you can sort of relive the good old days vicariously through them, hehe. šŸ˜€

I’m with Jessica- mum friends are great and all (and as soon as you get into the city checkup schedule there’s lots of chances to meet kids born the same time as Sakura) but I treasure my non-mum friends for a chance to talk about something other than feeding/ pooping and sleeping!

Looking forward to seeing you all on *Monday*. šŸ™‚

It was so great to catch up with you last weekend!! It was interesting to see how much Sakura has changed and grown since our trip up to Niigata. That smile she gave us in the breastfeeding room will stay with me forever šŸ™‚ It was the cutest thing!!

The international family club thing sounds great!! I know they might not be native English speakers but just be able to speak English must be nice! Hopefully the American teacher can introduce you to a few more foreigners – hopefully ones that are here for a bit longer!

Miss you already!
XXXX

Sounds as if you had a really great time! You are out and about loads, which is great. One of my Japanese Mum friends hadn’t even been outside with her son until he was about 3 months old :0 Shocking!!! It’s surprising how much babies remember isn’t it? Seems they are always in search of safety and home provides it too. I feel like that though. Always happy to go places, always happy to come home šŸ™‚

I feel as if there are never enough hours in the day! What with cleaning, cooking, “baby-ing”, I often don’t make it out! Feel a bit sorry for Luka really. Never really have enough time to go anywhere before it’s time to come back and pick Hannah up. Ah well, need to get more organised! And with autumn coming, should be nicer to get out walking šŸ™‚ Would love to come visit you again. Next month? Maybe I could let Hannah take a day off and we could come and see you on a weekday. Didn’t really get that much chance to natter last time, and really want to see your new place! Well, sounds as if you are getting out meeting people and getting settled in. Great to see all of your photos too!

Sounds like an awesome weekend. JEALOUS that you are going to see Heather. šŸ™‚

Comments are closed.

