Once Upon a Tanbo

2009 in review

Posted on: December 19, 2009

I did this post on my blog last year as well and thought it would be nice to keep it as a yearly recap. This year is going to be baby related heavy for obvious reasons 😉

1. What did you do in 2009 that you’d never done before?
Push a 3.6kg baby out of you know where…
Live with my inlaws…
Move to a rural area

2. Did you keep your new years’ resolutions, and will you make more for next year?
I don’t think I had any NYR’s last year. This year is getting my 3P plan done. (see previous post)

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?
YES.. this was the year of the baby… I think I knew about 10 people including myself who have given birth this year. Including several really good friends.

4. Did anyone close to you die?
My kitty Misty – RIP

5. What countries did you visit?
Just Japan and America

6. What would you like to have in 2010 that you lacked in 2009?
A drivers license… (same as last year)

A full night of sleep with no getting up for either pee breaks or crying baby

7. What date from 2008 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?
July 28th – My little princesses birthday

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?
Getting Sakura OUT and surviving the first 6 weeks of her life

9. What was your biggest failure?
Going way over the amount of weight I wanted to gain during pregnancy and then failing to lose a lot of it even 5 months after Sakura was born

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?
Pregnancy induced high blood pressues

11. What was the best thing you bought?
An oven!!!!

12. Whose behavior merited celebration?
Ryohei (again) he has really been a god send these last few months

13. Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed?
Internet drama was interesting

14. Where did most of your money go?
Baby stuff and travel to get out of the inaka and see my buds! Oh and medical bills for birth related costs

15. What did you get really, really, really excited about?
The baby!! Two of my dearest friends ALSO getting pregnant AND possibly a move next year!

16. What song will always remind you of 2009?
Lady Gaga – Bad Romance
Beyonce – Single Ladies
and pretty much anything on the Glee Soundtracks

17. Compared to this time last year, are you:
i. happier or sadder
much happier i think

ii. thinner or fatter?
fattest i’ve ever been and not happy about it

iii. richer or poorer?
poorer…

18. What do you wish you’d done more of?
more exercise,
more hanging out with my kansai friends before i moved

19. What do you wish you’d done less of?
eating junk,
petty fighting with Ryohei

20. How will you be spending Christmas?
This year with Sakura in California
God willing next year with Sakura and Ryohei in California

22. Did you fall in love in 2009?
I sure did with my baby girl

23. How many one-night stands?
hahahahahahhahaha – those days are over forever

24. What was your favorite TV program?
GLEE!!!
but also enjoyed Lie to Me, Burn Notice, and The Mentalist

25. Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year?
Hmm.. hate is a strong word, but I may possibly dislike a few people more

26. What was the best book you read?
Twilight Series! Read them all in the first month after Sakura was born

27. What was your greatest musical discovery?
Lady Gaga – LOVE HER

28. What did you want and get?
A little girl!
Moving out of the inlaws

29. What did you want and not get?
To be not as fat
To live in a place where I can actually have a social life

30. What were your favorite films of this year?
Julie and Julia, HP 6, New Moon

31. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?
Stayed home with Sakura on my 26th birthday and did nada 😦 A few days later Ryohei and I went out for 100 yen sushi to celebrate

32. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?
Not living in the inaka and having a different ob/gyn than Dr. Ridiculous Male Pig

33. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2009?
Maternity clothes and clothes a size I hope to never ever see again

34. What kept you sane?
my friends, when Sakura turned into cute baby instead of psycho one, my blog

35. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?
none

36. What political issue stirred you the most?
Would sure like Japan to sign the treaty to give children back to parents if taken away

37. Who did you miss?
All my friends in Kansai

38. Who was the best new person you met?
Hmm.. I think this ones a no brainer- Miss Sakura!

39. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2009.
Sleep whenever you can

40. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year:

In all that I’ve done wrong I know I must
have done something right to deserve a hug
every morning and butterfly kisses at night.

3 Responses to "2009 in review"

I think I might have to steal this memo off you to do for myself – if I ever have some free time to myself before the new year, lol!

I know this year has had a lot of ups and downs but you got through – when a lot of people would have given up you battled through and succeeded!! You are an amazing woman and I am so glad to be able to call you one of my best friends.

I hope the next year brings you everything you dream and more! You deserve it!

I am totally going to do this on my blog again this year. It is crazy to think it has been a whole year since I did it last time. This year has flown by SO quickly!!
Here’s to a fabulous 2010 for you Sarah.

Lots of hugs

Midori x

LOVE it! I am going to steal it too 🙂 Your answers are really great, and some very funny! Hope 2010 is a fantasic year for you and your family x

Comments are closed.

