Once Upon a Tanbo

Stuff and OFT

Posted on: March 30, 2010

Gah its been a busy busy day and its not even noon yet. Ok.. wait it just turned 12 about five minutes ago.

Had my Hello Work money day in the morning instead of the afternoon and ended up missing my bus because Ryohei had used my hanko (stamp seal) and hadn’t put it back in the right place so I had to walk 30 minute to the area and just made it on time. Anyways got out about 15 minutes later… but what turned out to be my “last” payment day is apparently not. I have 17 more days of getting Hello Work money SO I have to come back to Nagaoka late next month and get my next paycheck. So… thats going to be some yen down the tube to come to Niigata and back to Tokyo for just 15 minutes of sitting in a room but considering that 17 days work of Hello Work is about 8 times the price of a ticket I guess its worth the inconvenience.

Sakura is now  fully crawling. She can’t speed across a room yet but she can go at least 4 or 5 paces in particular if she is being enticed by food or a toy that she likes. She also… brace yourselfs people… slept through the night last night. I don’t know why. Maybe because she finally got the whole crawling thing down she was exhausted. We put her to bed around 8:30 and then she woke up and Ryohei put her back to bed around 10:00 and then not a peep until around 5ish when she woke up and I took her into bed with me for a feed and then we both fell back asleep until 7:30. Will be interesting if tonight is a repeat performance!

Ryohei is in Tokyo today meeting how new co-workers. He won’t be home tonight so it will just be Sakura and I and then he’ll be late tomorrow because he has a nomikai… so won’t be seeing him for a while I guess. Taking care of Sakura with no help and no one to talk to can get so tiring… I am glad that at least in a couple of weeks should the same thing occur I can hope that at least one of my friends will be free to meet up and break the monotomy of staying home with a young baby all day.

Anyways here is my one for tuesday recipe. I love banana bread but wanted to try a different take on it and use up some honey we had before our move. This turned it really well and the ingredient are very Japan friend (aka can get them all at the local super as opposed to having to make it out to an import shop)

Honey Banana Bread

1/2 c. butter (115 grams)
1/2 c. honey (115 grams)
3 eggs
1 tsp. soda
1 tsp. vanilla
1/2 c. chopped nuts – i use walnuts (50 grams)
4 mashed bananas
2 c. flour (250 grams)
1 tbsp. vegetable oil
1 tsp. salt

1st Mixture: Cream butter and honey together. Add the eggs one at a time, beating well after each addition.2nd Mixture: Add the salt and put the soda in the mashed bananas and add to the 1st mixture. Add the vanilla mix the nuts in and add the flour; beat well. Bake in a loaf pan, in 180 C degree oven for 1 hour.

8 Responses to "Stuff and OFT"

Yay for sleeping through the night, that’s awesome! Hope that it becomes routine for her soon. 🙂

me too!!! somehow i think it was just a “one night” thing but crossing my fingers that it wasn’t!!

Am definitely going to try out your recipe. It sounds divine! Thanks for sharing it. Hoping you will share your lasagna recipe you were talking about on facebook too 🙂

Wow, watch out everyone – Miss Sakura is now on the move!! Have fun trying to keep her out of everything/everywhere… She’ll be walking before you know it!

let me know how the bread turns out for you. the lasagna didn’t turn out as well as i expected so i need to retune the recipe before giving it out. one thing using the ground chicken proved to be really good because it wasn’t as oily and greasy as the beef/pork mix mince they sell here. don’t worry i will post it after trying it again with a couple “revisions”

Boo for having to return to get your pay cheque, but Yay for having more money 🙂 Great great great that bubs slept through the night. It really does help when they are more active, so it will only get better from here 🙂

Bread sounds yummy! Think I will try it out, maybe with margarine instead of butter. And can you tell me what cup measurement you use? I know the Japanese one differs from the American and U.K. one. Thanks!

The recipe is for American measuring cups.
It can get very confusing going between the different countries measurements. I think margarine would work fine. Its nice because the sweetness comes from the honey as well – a change from just white sugar 🙂

Crossing my fingers for another “peaceful” night

I have had two 8 hour stints from Ryu this week. Wahoo. And now he is all stuffed up and tonight will be a looooooong night I think. Can’t believe Sakura is crawling. Ryu is so lazy! Hope he gets the motivation to start moving soon! Hope the next few weeks go well for you guys. Ryohei musn’t be too sick if he is allowed out at a nomikai? 🙂

8 hours of sleep is nice… I’m guessing with the two other kiddies its harder for you to get a long stretch tho. I kept waking up “waiting” for her to wake up… it was very weird. Stupid body not taking advantage of rare chances. I should put up some videos of her crawling! Ryu has it good – I’d just like to sit put and observe if I was a baby.

Yes.. Ryohei is allowed to nomikai but he can’t drink. I’ve told him to tell the boss that he’s put on meds that can’t be mixed with the sake. He doesn’t want to “reveal” his condition on the eve of being transferred. He keeps telling me “jinzo itaiiii!” but he doesn’t even know where the damn things are located. silly men.

Comments are closed.

